NOD 32 for DOS

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by WilliamP, Oct 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I have downloaded NOD for DOS . It is in my documents. When I double click on it I get a little blue window that says ESET [press any key to continue or Esc. to exit.] Now what should I do. Help please.
     
  2. anders

    anders Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    410
    When you "press any key", it will extract the NOD32 for DOS files to a folder called "DOS32". In that folder, you will have (among others) the file NOD32DOS.EXE. That's the file you start to do the scanning.

    Most often, the DOS version isn't needed.

    Best regards,
    Anders
     
  3. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you Anders for the info. After doing that, how do you update the DOS virus definitions.
     
  4. cpututor

    cpututor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    The simplest way is to download the newest dos version.

    It is my understanding though, that the nod32.000 file is the same for other versions and you can copy it from the eset folder after your computer is updated.
     
  5. CompilerBacter

    CompilerBacter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    22
    I used to keep the latest NOD32 DOS on a floppy, (just in case).
    However, the last time I tried this I found that the file was too big :(
    Is this going to be the case from now on?
     
  6. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Cpututor,said to download the latest version. I did that but it was dated back in July ,so it can't be up on viruses. Is there any way to keep it up to date with virus definitions. Please give me a clue.
     
  7. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    William,

    I think you do have to d/l the latest version to keep it updated. The files dated from July are (as I recall) the system files--not the def files--those should be up to date.

    HTH
     
  8. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Where does it get it's virus definitions?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.