NOD 32 BE v3.0 ERAS Mirror

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by coiter, Aug 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. coiter

    coiter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    Does this actually work, because i cant get it to work and i have followed the instructions in the manual, and nothing happens. I have to manually update packages on each ERAS Mirror Server, and manually push updates to the clients.

    i have never gotten it to work on v3, so can someone verify for me that it actually does work?

    ./Thomas
     
  2. nonoise

    nonoise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    322
    it works. the easiest way is to enable mirror in console: tools->server options->updates->create update mirror (dont forget to fill in yer username and password)

    then you have to configure your clients to update from this mirror: under Update-> update server: http://your_server_name:2221

    (2221 is default port)

    thats about it
     
  3. coiter

    coiter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    its sounds easy but that how i have it.

    I have 4 Eras Servers. 1 main and 3 replica, and 150 clients.

    All Eras server have this function enabled, the main server updates from eset, and the 3 others updates from the main eras server.

    on virus signature this works perfectly. and have worked fine the last 5 months.

    Its the program components mirroring i want to work, so that it can update the other eras mirror servers and clients without me having to do it manually all the time. 3 of the Eras sites are on vessels with satelite link and is slow.

    If i update the Main ERAS server, i want it to push out the updates, signature files and program components.
     
  4. nonoise

    nonoise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    322
    i dont think it works for program components, not yet. it only works for signature files.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    No program component update has been released for v3 yet. If available, it will be downloaded together with signature updates.
     
  6. coiter

    coiter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    so the mirror is only for virus signatures spreading, annoying.

    how about the server maintenance sections, i have set to delete clients not connected for the last 30 days, and scheduler for cleanup every 24 hours, yet i have clients that is much older then 30 days, both 6 weeks, 8 weeks and even more still on my list.

    every replica server updates the main eras server every 24 hours aswell, does it work?
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2008
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    No, this is not true. The mirror actually works for virus signatures, modules and program component updates spreading. The thing is that no component update has been released yet. If one needs to update the program as such, for instance because of certain problems that have been fixed in newer versions, it's possible to deploy a newer version remotely using ERA like with a new installation. As soon as a program component update is available, it will be downloaded and distributed through the mirror.[/QUOTE]

    Couldn't it be that the upper ERAS deletes the clients, but subsequently they are replicated from a lower ERAS again? You'll need to set up client clean-up on the lower servers.
     
  8. coiter

    coiter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    isnt it possible to use the mirror functionality for my own purposes, like if i want to upgrade from 3.0.650 to 3.0.669, and get this spread and delivered to all computers.

    for example activating a mirror functionality when the package has been created, so all clients get auto upgraded when they connect to the ERAS Server wherever they are.?
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If there was an automatic program component update (PCU) released, then it would be possible. However, we release a PCU about 2 times per year, after the installers have been out for a long time to make sure that upgrading millions of clients to a new version won't cause troubles to them.

    The minor program updates like that from 3.0.650 to 3.0.669 contain some fixes to problems that have been reported. If you are sure a newer version fixes some problems that you have observed on your workstations, you can deploy it remotely and install it over the older version. If you haven't run into any problems, I'd better stay with the version you currently have and wait for an automatic program update.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.