nod 32 antivirus v3 problems

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by peter7769, Jan 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. peter7769

    peter7769 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Posts:
    31
    Hi ;)
    i have just upgraded to ESET Nod32 Antivirus v3 and its made my system really slow, what i mean is that when i say right click on an item/folder to do anything with it, nod32 seems to race away and uses a lot of cpu & memory, also when i try to use winzip to zip up a file, it starts normally but just as it gets to the end of zipping it up it stalls and nod32 races again, im not sure what settings i should change as i know its going to be a compromise between keeping my system clean but not having a pc like a snail, should i turn of real time file protection or just adjust some settings, but which oneso_O

    any help/Advice would be great.

    Thanks Pete :D
     
  2. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    NOD32 is one of the lightest av out there. Believe me I tried them all. What version of NOD32 3.0 are you using. What OS. What firewall. Have you updated it? Have you rebooted since your update?
     
  3. peter7769

    peter7769 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Posts:
    31
    Hi,

    Thanks for the reply, i was using 2.7 and im now using v 3.0.621.0 and nothing has changed since then, i am using windows xp pro sp2, with zonealarm firewall.

    i have been using this new version for about 1 week, i think it just needs tweaking but im not sure what to do or change.

    Pete
     
  4. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    No tweaking done on my part all I did was install it. Make sure you put a check next to what ever web browser you use.
     
  5. peter7769

    peter7769 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Posts:
    31
    Done that :(
     
  6. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Sure its NOD32 that is slowing you down? Have you tried disabling it and seeing what happens. I have NOD32 on my desktop and laptop and my surfing speeds are awesome. No slow downs at all. I am also using Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0. I have a 6MB DSL elite connection also. I am always downloading at 700kbs or so with no slow downs.
     
  7. peter7769

    peter7769 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Posts:
    31
    yes i have disabled it and everything goes back to normal, well when i say disable, i disabled the real time file system protection and things went back to normal, its nothing to do with slowing down the internet or download speeds, it the whole pc that slows down, im 100% that i need to tweak some settings for the file protection, but i just don't know what to leave on and what to disable.

    Pete :doubt:
     
  8. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Are you sure you have updated it? The last update slowed some pc's down. If you right click on the tray icon you can disalbe it. Try cleaning out your prefetch folder. What AV were you using before? Did you completey get rid of it? How much ram do you have? Have you done a spyware scan with SAS or ST? Dont mean to ask so many ? but both my pc's, my cousins pc ,my mothers pc,my budiies pc, all my clients pc's. They all run NOD32 with no slow downs at all.
     
  9. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    IMO Zonealarms one of the biggest slowwwwwwwww downers out there, Use comodo instead. ;)
     
  10. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Not true. ZA slows down your welcome screen thats about it. I was using ZAAS for months along side NOD32with no slow downs in browsing at all. Just as fast with Comodo.
     
  11. freesurfer

    freesurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    Good day,

    Could you confirm the state of your computer when you say it is working normally and when it slows down by loading Task Manager? We need to make sure if it is CPU related (even if your CPU shows idle, your system could still bog-down if a program is monopolizing your HDD), and if so, is the high CPU usage only when your system slows down or was it already high to begin w/.

    Regards.
     
  12. peter7769

    peter7769 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Posts:
    31
    Thanks for all the replies.


    I think i might have fixed it, i thought it might have been a corrupt installation so i uninstalled, removed all traces from the registry and reinstalled, so far so good the spikes seemed to have calmed down :D

    Pete
     
  13. zorbis

    zorbis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    why you upgraded from version 2.7 in the first place?? at present there is no need at all to do so and as the old saying go "if ain't broke don't fix it".
     
  14. John2222

    John2222 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    I'm wondering the same thing. I usually try to keep up to date. However after looking at the thread "New Version 3.0.621..." I don't understand the rush.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=195309

    I also read elsewhere that 2.7 and 3.0 use the same database, so I assume they both are equally protective of the same malware.??
     
  15. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Yes your right they are the same. All reviews that have voted NOD32 the best AV were based on version 2.7.
     
  16. peter7769

    peter7769 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Posts:
    31
    Well i just thought i would have the latest one, after all if there was nothing wrong with 2.7 then why did eset bring out version 3 o_O, like everyone says im sure there are bugs that need to be ironed out, but if no one uses it and finds the bugs out and reports them then they will never get fixed, as for the comments about the best AV being given on v2.7 im not even sure these review companies have even looked at v3 yet, anyway each to their own..

    it seems to be running ok now, and has caught quite a few nasties so far!!

    Pete;)
     
  17. chrizio

    chrizio Guest

    Let reanimate me this thread please.
    I don't like v.3 cause
    1. It has caused a revolution in
    filter rules of my firewall (prior v.3 several apps did access directly to i-net,
    after v.3 the nod32 is doing these accesses).
    2. It doesn't run under BartPE or similar.
    As it is being everywhere stated the best scan is scan of disc
    in idle state.
     
  18. ethernal

    ethernal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    why isn't it running under bartpe?

    i'd like to know, because i'm currently writing a plugin to do just that, and i'd be very intersted to know what possible pitfalls there are.

    (and no, just because nobody has been arsed writing a plugin doesn't mean it doesn't work..)
     
  19. chrizio

    chrizio Guest

    It's not running in the manner as v.2x it did.
    Just by invoking it from command line.
     
  20. ethernal

    ethernal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    then i forsee no problems. just because it acts differently doesnt mean it won't work. ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.