NOD 2.7 Will not scan

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by WilliamP, Nov 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    With RC1 the on demand scan would work. After downloading 2.7 the scan will hang and not move.
     
  2. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I have found out this much. As downloaded it will scan . If NOD32 is set up per Blackspears set up it won't. In fact ,even if I go back in and change the settings back to the downloaded setting it won't scan. I had to start over with a new set up.
     
  3. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    With Blackspears settings it hangs on C:\$ISR\1\DELL\MEDIAEXE\ As you can see I have a FDISR Snapshot. I can't find what that is. Does anyone know?
     
  4. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, WilliamP

    I think? it is part of the Dell system restore, [a very big archive zip].

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  5. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I tried Dell support. That was a waste. I got someone that didn't seem to know what an AV was. I did find the DELL MEDIAEXE in the DELL folder on C drive.
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    :D :D :D


    Try ESET Tech Support ;) Mail support@eset.com or fill in this (Global support)


    :thumb:

    Let us know how you go
     
  7. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    As TheQuest has stated this file is part of the Dell Restore System.

    I have had many AV's slow up on this file, even KAV with its unpackers. Will NOD 2.7 scan the file eventually?

    I remember some of my AV's hanging for ages ( 5-10 minutes) on this one file before they completed their scanning.

    This slow down will also be magnified by NOD as it scans in all snapshots. No idea why you are seeing a difference between RC1 and version 2.7.

    Blackspear's settings for the on-demand scanner selects all of the archives in the settings. I cannot remember what the default settings are, but maybe the difference is that not all the archive files are selected in the default :doubt:

    Therefore, try to exclude the Dell/MediaExe from the scanner or deselect the archives.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    The On-Demand scanner , which the OP has issues with , has no option for exclusions ;)
     
  9. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I was thinking of version 3! :D :D
     
  10. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Dell support is non existent. I even called trying to find out about MEDIAEXE and so I have found out nothing.
     
  11. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
  12. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    More info on the Dell Media Experience here.

    I transferred this file to an external drive several months ago with no apparent adverse effects.
     
  13. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hmm... From what I've read so far, it's just a very large zip file.
    AV programs may seem to stall, but they are actually scanning the archive.

    I suggest you try again, and this time wait a little longer before aborting the scan.
    Some folks scanned it on 10 minutes (times may vary all depending on your hardware of course).
     
  14. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Well it will scan. It took 1 hour and 30 minutes. So there really isn't a problem. I have a lot to scan. NOD rocks.
     
  15. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Thanks for letting us know ! :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.