No support of Tandberg LTO2

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by alex_r, Apr 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alex_r

    alex_r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    we running True Image Echo Server on a W03 Std. Server. True Image is not able to find the connected LTO2 tape from Tandberg (LTO-2 HH).
    I allready submit this problem to the german support arround 3 weeks ago, but no answer... :-(
    Have anyone an idee, what i can do to solve my problem?

    Greets and thanks
    Alex
     
  2. z242

    z242 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    Which version are you running? If it's the current version, do you have your tape drive set up properly under Removable Storage Management?
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello alex_r,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Server Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out how the investigation of your issue is going. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Please also have a look at chapter 3.7 "Backing up to tape libraries and tape drives" of Acronis True Image Echo Server for Windows User's Guide for detailed description on how Acronis True Image Echo works with tape drives.

    If that doesn't help, please do the following if you haven't done yet:

    - Download this archive;
    - Unpack the archive to C:\
    - Start the command prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd);
    - Run the following command:

    c:\tapes.exe > c:\tapes.txt

    Then please send the C:\tapes.txt with a reply to the autoreply you received. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  4. alex_r

    alex_r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Sorry for the late answer.

    I run the last version of true image (build 8.076). After a complte new installation now i can see my tape but it´s impssible to do a backup.
    when i use the wizard to create a backup true image crash and close itself after i selected the tape unit, the backup typ and the options....

    i do all steps like the chapter 3.7 of the manual.

    my Acronis request number is #1395466

    thank´s
    Alex
     
  5. z242

    z242 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    This sounds very similar to what I see when I try running tape backups on an IBM LTO2 under Vista x64. What OS are you running?

    BTW, I have reported my problem as bug 1419299, in case this helps you.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2008
  6. alex_r

    alex_r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I´m running Server 2003 Std.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello alex_r,

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please clarify, is there any error message when the application crashes? If there is, could you please provide the exact text?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello z242,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Corporate Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Unfortunately, it's yet unclear what is the cause of the issue you encountered. It's still being analyzed by our QA Team. We appologize for any inconvenience the delay may cause.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  9. alex_r

    alex_r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    i found this error message in the event log:

    "Ereignistyp: Fehler
    Ereignisquelle: Application Error
    Ereigniskategorie: (100)
    Ereigniskennung: 1000
    Datum: 17.04.2008
    Zeit: 18:33:07
    Benutzer: Nicht zutreffend
    Computer:
    Beschreibung:
    Fehlgeschlagene Anwendung TrueImage.exe, Version 9.5.0.8076, fehlgeschlagenes Modul unknown, Version 0.0.0.0, Fehleradresse 0xc68b0689.

    Weitere Informationen über die Hilfe- und Supportdienste erhalten Sie unter http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
    Daten:
    0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74 Applicat
    0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c ion Fail
    0010: 75 72 65 20 20 54 72 75 ure Tru
    0018: 65 49 6d 61 67 65 2e 65 eImage.e
    0020: 78 65 20 39 2e 35 2e 30 xe 9.5.0
    0028: 2e 38 30 37 36 20 69 6e .8076 in
    0030: 20 75 6e 6b 6e 6f 77 6e unknown
    0038: 20 30 2e 30 2e 30 2e 30 0.0.0.0
    0040: 20 61 74 20 6f 66 66 73 at offs
    0048: 65 74 20 63 36 38 62 30 et c68b0
    0050: 36 38 39 689
    "

    I don´t know why but now i could perform full backup without an crash.
    (Server wasn´t restartet since the last test)
    After backup i want to test the recovery. But if i click on recover and chose the tape device true image could not see any backup on the tape. i only see the german message "Kein Element zur Anzeige", no recovery is possible.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello alex_r,

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    We have contacted the appropriate person with a request to expedite your case.

    Meanwhile, could you please collect the application log of the operation the following way:

    - run the program;
    - select Show log on the toolbar or from the Tools menu;
    - select the corresponding log;
    - click "Save the log entry to file" (the diskette icon).

    Then please send the log to our Support Team.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  11. koroljow

    koroljow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Is there any solution for the LTO2 problem? We would like to use Acronis True Image Echo Server + Recovery MSSQL on a W2k3 Server with integrated Tandberg OEM LTO2 (SCSI) drive. The otherwise working drive isn't recogniced by Acronis. The new server should be up and running within 1 week. So we have to decide between Acronis and other backup solutions. So is there any news regarding this issue?!
    Yours,
    Olaf
     
  12. z242

    z242 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    I am also in a similar situation with an IBM LTO2. The drive is recognized, but Acronis is unable to use it successfully. Other backup programs have no problem using this drive. I kept getting messages for a while from Acronis saying that the problem was being worked on, but it's been weeks since I've heard anything at all. Tape support was the main reason I upgraded from the Home to the Workstation edition. Could someone please tell us in detail what's happening here?
     
  13. supdeco1

    supdeco1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    I've a similar problem on win 2000 server

    test with different servers and different backup reader (DDS4, LTO2, LTO3)
    The version is the last 8076, and backup reader are ok with backup exec

    The trouble are not the same, when i install and uninstall the software.

    i have three choice...

    1- the backup seems to start, and after 5-10sec backup successuf completed (but not ok...for 5Go to backup)
    2- Message appears on error (error internal like i ever read on a similar post)
    3- yesterday, i've tried and a new version...the backup seems to start and notic 0% with the icone movement, but after 30min, its still in 0%...

    I have sent to the support the log, but i think there's a big problem with the cartridge reader with the echo version.

    I've tested with a CD boot, generated with the echo, and tried to back up and it's ok. The problem seems to come with the ATIES driver on windows.
     
  14. jozwikjp

    jozwikjp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Any support for Tandberg yet?
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello everyone,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Corporate Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please be aware that our Development Team are working on fixing this issue. Most likely, the fix will be included into the next build of Acronis True Image. We're sorry, but the exact time-frame isn't defined yet.

    supdeco1, could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out how the investigation of your issue is going. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.