no signal on monitor

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by iii, Nov 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iii

    iii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    96
    hello i wasnt on my personal computer for about a month because i was on business and when i came back i kept getting beeps whenever i tried powering my computer. Reseating the ram fixed the problem but now i cant get any signal to my monitor. the monitor works but there isnt any signal. If i plug it into the on board vga it would do nothing and the auto detect screen would only show but if i plug it into my radeon video card the screen would go black like it recieved somthing but nothing would appear. i had a similiar problem before when i left my computer unused for a month but reseating the ram fixed it the first time it happened
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    can you plug in the monitor in some other comp to check it. if it works then maybe your graphics card is gone
     
  3. iii

    iii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    96
    its not a broken video card when the on board vga doesnt work either. I dont have another computer to test anything out
     
  4. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    If both onboard and discrete are connected with standard VGA cable, have you tried swapping this out?

    philby
     
  5. iii

    iii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    96
    no the video card is dvi it has a vga but i never used it. when i plug in the vga i plug it into the computer one not the video card.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.