no signal on monitor

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by iii, Nov 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iii

    iii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    96
    hello i wasnt on my personal computer for about a month because i was on business and when i came back i kept getting beeps whenever i tried powering my computer. Reseating the ram fixed the problem but now i cant get any signal to my monitor. the monitor works but there isnt any signal. If i plug it into the on board vga it would do nothing and the auto detect screen would only show but if i plug it into my radeon video card the screen would go black like it recieved somthing but nothing would appear. i had a similiar problem before when i left my computer unused for a month but reseating the ram fixed it the first time it happened
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    can you plug in the monitor in some other comp to check it. if it works then maybe your graphics card is gone
     
  3. iii

    iii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    96
    its not a broken video card when the on board vga doesnt work either. I dont have another computer to test anything out
     
  4. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    If both onboard and discrete are connected with standard VGA cable, have you tried swapping this out?

    philby
     
  5. iii

    iii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    96
    no the video card is dvi it has a vga but i never used it. when i plug in the vga i plug it into the computer one not the video card.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.