No "In depth analysis" log??

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by guilijan, Aug 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    I have done a "In depth analysis" and can't see a log in Nod32 Scanner log.
    Do somebody know why?
    And another question, what are the differences between "In depth analysis" and "run Nod32"
    Both scan all hard drive.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    There should be a log file , Control Center -> Logs -> NOD32 scanner logs
    If there isn't , may be there is something wrong but we can't tell you remotely.

    Yes , by default there is a difference between
    <Run NOD32> and <In-depth analysis>

    If you haven't touched the settings , Run NOD32 will do really fast scan without advanced heuristic and runtime packers or archives . In depth scan is really deep and it uses everything on max .

    I suggest you go through Blackspear's Tutorial and configure NOD32 as shown . Using it , you'll modify your Control Center profile <Run NOD32> and you will perform fully automated in-depth scan

    If you use BS's settings , next time use Run NOD32 :thumb: :D
     
  3. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    Yes I have touched the settings so I'll look for Blackspear's tutorial again.

    But I haven't the log of In depth analysis, and don't know why.
    The log will be done even if Nod don't find anyting?
     
  4. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    Well I can't find a Blackspear setting tuttorial for "In depth analysis", only for run Nod32.

    I restart Nod and no scanner log are present. And I did a few minutes ago a "In depth analysis"

    Well I have seen Eset files and found a folder and a file.
    A folder "logs" with two files virlog.dat and warnlog.dat.
    A file out of log folder named Nod32.log (this is txt file).
    In a file Nod.32 I can see details of the in depth analysis.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2006
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I personally have never used "In-depth analysis" . I modify myself MyProfile and Control Center Profile <Run NOD32> . May be it is normal not to see a log for it;)

    Yes , you won't see In-depth scan in BS's tutorial because it recommends using only Run NOD32 . So do I . This tutorial will show you how to max your settings so you will never again need any other profile :)

    Go through it and make sure your are protected :thumb:
     
  6. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    Thank you HiTech_boy for your answer and your attention.
    But I need more answers.
    For example,
    1) why are a option "in depth analysis" and recomend not to use it?
    2) what are really the differences between "in depth analysis and "run Nod32"? Both have the same configuration.
    3) why I can see the log of "in depth analysis" that I have done?
    4) why have in Eset folder, a file named Nod32.log out of logs folder?

    I hope somebody can answer my questions.
     
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    by default In-depth analysis and Run NOD32 are not the same. also In-depth analysis does not check email files and it doesnt check for potentially dangerous applications.

    i dont know whats with your logs tho. i ran an in-depth scan and it did make a log. doublecheck that logging is enabled for it.
     
  8. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    Well I've done a new scan but with "Run Nod32", and again no log.
    I don't know why but I haven't any log in Nod32 Scanners Log.

    I'm thinking in uninstall and install again, but perhaps any other solution may be possible.

    Well again looking in Eset folder, I can see a txt file with the log of "Run Nod32" but outside Log folder. But in Nod 32 screen, can't see the log.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2006
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Are you looking in the right place ?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    About the profiles , you will see the differences if you look carefully . NOD32 is really flexible .
    It is suggested that you use Run NOD32 (Control Center Profile) only with Blackspear's settings since they are the deepest and the most automated settings . :D
     
  11. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    Yes I'm looking in the right place.It´s really curious.
    May be if some Eset expert read this thread can explain why it happens.
    Of course it's not an important problem but for some reason it happens.
     
  12. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Well , I can't offer another solution . You may wish to reinstall NOD32 , it is a fast procedure:


    1) Download a fresh copy of NOD32 for your correct operating system
    Trial version Full paid version

    2) Goto Control Panel-> Add/Remove programs and Uninstall NOD32

    3) Reboot

    4) Goto C:\Program files and manually delete the folder ESET

    5) Install NOD32 from the file you just downloaded in step 1
    Use Typical settings

    6) Make sure you have stable i-net connection and NOD32 (nodkrn.exe) is allowed to go through your firewall and Update NOD

    7) Configure NOD32 as shown here


    At the end , tell us how is it going . Good luck ! :thumb:
     
  13. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    Thank you HiTech_boy.

    Just one question more, are some limits from Eset to install and unistall Nod32?

    And what is the clip show in the theread list close by the the subject?
     
  14. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    You are welcome! :)

    No , there aren't .

    What do you mean , I can't get it :blink:
     
  15. Alwill

    Alwill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hazarding a guess, I'd say this is what the OP is referring to.
     

    Attached Files:

    • NOD.jpg
      NOD.jpg
      File size:
      32 KB
      Views:
      1
  16. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    the paper clip icon simply means that one of the posts in thread has an attachment.
     
  17. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    :D :D :D Thanks
     
  18. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    Oh oh if this thread was in spanish!!!!!!!!
    I will reintall in afew days and then see what happens with the logs.
     
  19. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    Well I've solved all problems.
    1) When I installed Nod I put a tick in "List all files" and then the logs increased until 70 or more mb. In that moment I don't know why. Then I delete the folder "Nod32" which was inside "logs" folder. I did that instead clear all logs.
    After that I think that Nod can't keep any scanner log.

    Well, I uninstall and install again and of course don't put a tick in "List all files". The "Nod32" folder are again in it's place, inside "logs" folder, and of course have again all log whitout any problem.


    Remember, don't delete "Nod32" folder wich is in "Logs" folder.
     
  20. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Congratulations ! Thanks for letting us know :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.