No hard disks recognised

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by revbobuk, Jun 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. revbobuk

    revbobuk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Folks - I've recently changed my boot drive for a new one - no problems there. But I've been having graphics card problems, and had to re-install windows. Since when I've had no end of troubles, and I want to revert to a previously saved True Image file. That's on an external drive, which the OS recognises fine. When I try to restore, I get error

    E000101F4: Acronis True Image has not found any hard disk drives.

    I'm using v8.0 build 937, and I've reinstalled True Image just to make sure. Any ideas?

    Bob
     
  2. jayfore

    jayfore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    I'm experiencing the same error, I just realized. You mentioned changing your boot drive. I noticed several days ago that a new partition has shown up on my computer... For Dell recovery purposes. When I got the computer, I wiped all the partitions and started from scratch. Everything was as I left it for probably a year, and now, all of a sudden, this partition has somehow shown up. I have no idea how, as I did not install any Dell utilities recently. It makes me pretty mad, and I wonder if it's somehow related to this error?

    I had been wondering if a reinstall would correct it... And it doesn't? Wow! I have v9.0, build 2247.

    EDIT: A reinstall just corrected my problem.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2006
  3. revbobuk

    revbobuk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    OK - one of the other threads sorted this, as I installed drivers from here:
    http://download.acronis.com/support/SnapAPI_s_e.exe
    and that seemed to fix it. So now I can start the recovery process, but when I have selected the image and the PC reboots, it cannot see the Freecom NDAS drive at all. I bought True Image because it claims to work from a Freecom drive, but no joy!
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello revbobuk,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please try the following workaround:

    Please boot your computer from the Acronis True Image rescue disc (the full version) and press F11 key when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears. After you get the "Linux Kernel Settings" prompt, please add the "acpi=off noapic" parameter (without quotes) to the end of the Linux kernel command line (do not remove the word "quiet") and click on the OK button.

    If that does not help, please download and install Acronis True Image 9.0 trial version, create the bootable rescue media with it and try to restore the image.

    Please uninstall any previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing Acronis True Image 9.0 trial.

    If the problem still persists, please boot your computer from the Acronis True Image rescue disc and press F11 key when the selection screen appears. After you get the "Linux kernel command line" prompt, please modify it in the following way:

    quiet acpi=off noapic, click on the OK button and choose "Full Version".

    If that does not help, please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.