No gui with Sabayon

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by quintile, May 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. quintile

    quintile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    138
    HI!

    I really wanted to try Sabayon, but just using the cd I get no gui.
    Am using the 4.1 2Gb mini version.

    It gets to the splash screen, the fstab then just goes to a dark screen...nothin' after that.
    I've also verified the burn, burned it 3 times, once with Nero, twice with K3B. at the slowest speed for dvd.

    I have a Dell 2400 Dimension, yeah, I know it's old but it works. :D

    The video card is standard (VGA) Intel 845, if that helps,

    I do have a new Acer LCD, but it works fine with most distros..

    Does anyone have any ideas on what I can do to get Sabayon working?
    Or is it just one of those times when the hardware is not compatible?

    I tried all the boot parameters it offered also, nothing.

    Let me know if you need any more info.

    TIA
     
  2. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Can you drop to a shell via ctrl-alt-F1 or F2, log in as root and try to tail the syslog or messages depending on what Sabayon uses for logging. This may help start your trouble shooting process, you may also want to check their forums for any similar hardware conflicts.
     
  3. Becho

    Becho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Posts:
    26
    Try this, i got it from their forums.

    Just start from the DVD without any cheat code, chose your keyboard setting and the language.
    After that, wait untill you see a black screen (mostly after 87% of the boot process).
    Press Alt + F1 ; You must be in the shell prompt right there.
    Type these :

    Code:
    su
    /etc/init.d/xdm restart
     
  4. quintile

    quintile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    138
    Liquidkewl and Becho, Thanks! I will give both ideas a try...

    Let ya know later..if they worked for me.. :)
     
  5. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Yeah, standard garbage! lshw dump your chipset as the 82845G/GL?
     
  6. quintile

    quintile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    138
    On PCLos atm....and evidently there is no lshw tool..

    But, the (video card) chipset says 82845 GCG..
     
  7. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    As root no?
     
  8. quintile

    quintile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    138
    Code:
    [root@cpe-69-76-147-214 XXXX]# lshw --help
    bash: lshw: command not found
    [root@cpe-69-76-147-214 XXXX]#   
    Yep! Tried whereis too..

    Getting the info from the PCLos control center/hardware.
     
  9. quintile

    quintile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    138
    Tried this but don't see any video info...

    Code:
    [root@cpe-69-76-147-214 XXXX]# cat /proc/cpuinfo
    processor       : 0
    vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
    cpu family      : 15
    model           : 2
    model name      : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.20GHz
    stepping        : 9
    cpu MHz         : 2200.000
    cache size      : 512 KB
    fdiv_bug        : no
    hlt_bug         : no
    f00f_bug        : no
    coma_bug        : no
    fpu             : yes
    fpu_exception   : yes
    cpuid level     : 2
    wp              : yes
    flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe up cid xtpr
    bogomips        : 4391.08
     
  10. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Then lspci -v

    VGA=?
     
  11. quintile

    quintile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    138
    Code:
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device (rev 01) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
            Subsystem: Dell Unknown device 0160
            Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
            Memory at e8000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=128M]
            Memory at feb80000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512K]
            Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 1
    
    Yeah, does say GL...
     
  12. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Which 4.1 mini you got there?
     
  13. quintile

    quintile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    138
    Last edited: May 22, 2009
  14. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Well, after numerous configurations (refresh=50-70 hsync=31.5-48.5), I couldn't get'er to like the 845.
    Short of first-hand experience/suggestions, ask in the appropriate forum if your still hungry > Sab.
     
  15. quintile

    quintile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    138
    That's alot of 'figgerin'...

    Thanks for checking all that out, Steve!

    I will prob pass on Sabayon for now..
    til a new puter falls into my lap, with a newer graphics card..:cool:

    There's always plenty more distros to try.. :D
     
  16. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  17. quintile

    quintile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    138
    Thanks!

    I'll have to try it, sounds promising for 'not new' puters.. :)

    An anti-X prog might just do the trick! :thumb:

    I see it's based on Mepis, I have tried Mepis before and liked it!
     
  18. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Hey, you know, I've found comfort in Slack. You on the other hand might find a Mep's spin to your liking. Apt's a great pacman!
     
  19. quintile

    quintile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    138
    Something about Slack that my puter lacks ...

    Too bad, some really good distros with slack.. :doubt:

    Oh yeah, used apt, that works for me!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.