No cleanup of tmp files?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by paroots, Sep 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paroots

paroots Registered Member

I am new to nod32 and trying to set it up properly. I noticed that there are over 1 GByte in tmp files (eg, NODAE62.tmp) located in C:\Windows\Temp. They seem to be created during a scan since the creation time corresponds to a on-demand scan. Nod32 doesn't seem to delete them and they are not affected by a reboot. Can anyone explain:
    1. why so many?
    2. why doesn't nod delete them when finished?
    3. and is it safe for me to delete them?
    Thanks.

2. ASpace

ASpace Guest

I have never seen such files in my computer . I am also a reseller , haven't seen such file into my clients' computer

It is safe to delete them , absolutely.

They may appear because you have checked something useless.Uncheck "List all files" as shown in the screenshot.

Since you new NOD32 user , make sure you read Blackspear's tutorial and learn how to setup NOD32 for maximum protection and automated works

Enjoy! :thumb:

Attached Files:

3. pykko

pykko Registered Member

hmm...strange. I have no NOD...tmp in that folder even after a scan. o_O
    Try to clean your logs (Logs-> NOD32 Scanner Logs) and see what happens. :)

4. paroots

Thanks for the fast responses. I did not have 'List all Files' checked so that should not be the problem. Also, I have configured nod32 per Blackspear recommendations with modifications on On-Demand Scanner/Setup as follows:
    1. Enable wrap log
    2. Enable overwrite
    3. Set max size to 10000
    4. Modified path for log name
    5. Under Advanced, selected send alerts with detailed information

Could any of these be the source of the problem? I should also mention that my scans take 4 hours.

By the way, how does one insert the Setup screenshot? I know how to create the appropriate gif or jpeg file; I just don't know how to insert it into the post.