no cd and dvd drives with Bootable CD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rabadumpf, Nov 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rabadumpf

    rabadumpf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    Hello,
    i have acronis 10.0.4871 and i have a problem with the bootable CD (also acronis version 9).
    I can´t recover my pc with dvd. When i start the pc with the bootable cd, and i press the full version button, i can see only a black screen, and then i must press the reboot buttom. When i press the safe version buttom, i can only see the harddrives, but not the cd and dvd drives. What can i do to see the cd and dvd drives when i start my pc with the bootable cd?

    Mainbord: ASUS M2NPV-VM ACPI Bios Revision 0109

    Thank you.
     
  2. amnonfeiner

    amnonfeiner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Was the recovery CD created by the installed version?
     
  3. rabadumpf

    rabadumpf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    Yes, i create the cd with the installed version.
    The problem also appears when i boot with the program cd.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If it's a newly released motherboard then most likely the problem is that the chipset is not supported. I have that problem with my ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi board. The dvd drive will not show up in the rescue cd in full or safe mode (TI 9 build 3,667). Currently, version 10 has not been updated to include the drivers either.
     
  5. rabadumpf

    rabadumpf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    Yes i bought this mainboard in July, it is very new.
    What can i do, can i post this error to acronis support?
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If you need cd/dvd support in the rescue cd, it's probably best to contact Acronis support. They may be able to send you a link to a new ISO that contains the drivers you need.

    In the meantime you could try making a BartPE or Reatogo boot disk and see if that works for you. To get started, do a search on this forum. There are many posts on the subject with helpful infomation.
     
  7. rabadumpf

    rabadumpf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    Thank you for your answer, i will support to acronis.
    And i take a look how to make a BartPE boot-cd.
     
  8. rabadumpf

    rabadumpf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    I have create a BartPE-Disk. When i start with the BartPE-CD and load acronis to restore my pc with dvd, i can see the CD and DVD-drive. But when i press restore buttom and chose my .tib-file on the DVD, i become a message that the dvd are damaged or cannot read.
    But the DVD are ok.
    What can i do to read the dvd when i want to restore my pc with dvd.
    Thanks.
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Does the DVD verify okay using TI in Windows and from the BartPE disk?

    There are a lot of posts with people having problems using dvds to backup. You may want to try an external usb 2.0 hard drive. If you have room on another hard drive you could save the backup there and then burn the .tib file to the DVD using nero or windows, etc. Some people seem to have better sucess that way. Restoring from dvds is also very slow when it does work correctly.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello rabadumpf,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that we will need some additional information to investigate this issue thoroughly and to provide you with a possible workaround.

    First, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue still persists, please create Acronis Report, Windows System Information and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If you not able to create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) then please do the following:

    - Boot your computer from the Acronis True Image 10.0 Home Bootable CD and press F11 key when the selection screen advising you to select either "Full", "Safe" or "Boot into Windows" option appears.

    - After you get the "Linux kernel command line" prompt, remove the word "quiet", click on the OK button then and choose "Full Version".

    When the screen stop scrolling please write down the output information you receive (last 5 lines), or use a digital camera to make shots of the output screens and send the captured information to Acronis Support Team. You can use Shift+PgUp and Shift+PgDn keys to scroll the screen manually.

    As for the second issue with corrupt/damaged DVD disc, please clarify the exact error message you have received. Please also create a screen shot of this error, if possible. Also please follow MudCrab advice and try to validate the image archives using Validate Archive tool (Tool -> Validate Backup Archive) of Acronis True Image and let us know the exact check-out result?

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.