no boot after back up

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hermanito, Sep 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hermanito

    hermanito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    For the 3rd time I run into a problem AFTER I make a back-up.

    To be sure that I will not run in problems I make a back up during the night. Next morning I find my screen stating that back was ok. Than I want to continue to work on my computer and the disk does not start up anymore. Read disk error; press control alt delete .....

    Finito. I a more safe withoput back-up than with .... Tried MBR recovery tool ... no results ...

    What to do?
     
  2. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Do a Google search on "Disk read error occurred". This not caused by TI. You have a problem with your machine. I resolved this once by replacing a hard drive, and once by flashing the BIOS.
     
  3. hermanito

    hermanito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks for your suggestion, but I don't believe so. Let me give further details as I am trying now during 4 days to make it work again. I have bought in the meantime also their Disk Director Suite, aprogramm fro SpotMau (which I think is not a programm but a kind of fraud, but that's something else to discuss) and 3 new harddisks (notebookdisks each 160GB). I swap these and all the same.

    If I re-install Windows XP which came with my HP, I have one NTFS partition of 149GB of which some programms say it is ok and some say it is not ok. Maybe the size? Anyway Windows XP in it's basic form WORKS and I can boot, quit, re-boot etc. So the disk I am currently using cannot be wrong.Than if I make a back-up of this Windows on an external disk and restore again overwriting the Windows on the hard disk, the restored Windows works like it should.

    Than I restore a back-up which I made on september 9 (just to be sure to have something for the case that). It said : Restore ok. So the older back-up I had on another disk, I delete .... reason why I am already 4 days at work during the day and the night to get my stuff back. Why? Because after I read: RESTORE OK and want to start working on my computer, the computer FAILS to read the hard disk (this is the hd I made a back up from!!). Than I smile and thought let's restore and go on. But after having restored my just made backup, same fault: disk read error. Press control+al+delete. My backup from september 6 ... same story.

    So I really think that backing up my hard disk with Acronis caused me a big problem. As this happens with diferent drives, but 3 times AFTER I made a back up!!! I got from Vladimir from Acronis a tip where to get a MBR recover disk. Unfortunately that tool does ot work either. So I am in deep ....! I cannot even contac Vladimir as I lost all my files, emails etc and I am typng o another computer.

    I know nothing bout partitions etc, but I was wondering if I could not restore the back up that I need WITHOUT influencing Windows or the startup file, as there seems to be the problem ... I am quite desperate and wished |I could send my disks to Acronis for them to repair them the way they should perform ...

    I am going to retry and read and read and read again abot possible solutions .. In the meantime I have destroyed my backup dated september 9 ... and can only restore from september 6, but as said that doesn't work either ...
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Use the bootable Rescue CD to do the Restore ..... and make future Backups. This is beginning to sound like an old record. ;)
     
  5. hermanito

    hermanito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    I HAVE used the bootable cd otherwise I could not even startup my computer anymore. After restoring my backup from my external hd on the internal laptop hd .... disk read error control+alt+delete ..... In the good old time I used Ghost, and if necessary I replaced the backup hd with the system hd and never a problem. I just left Ghost because I hate their AVirus software, but now I regret ... And for everybodys information ... my laptop still does not start up after restoring my last back-up.

    By the way what means future backups?
     
  6. hermanito

    hermanito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    What I am actualy trying now is ....

    Having the basis Window XP running on my computer (remmeber, I could restore that) I have started up with the Acrons bootcd and try to restore now "documents and settings" only. My screen tells me it is going to take ... 10 hours. I don't believe it ... And still I don't know if it will work ....
     
  7. hermanito

    hermanito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Sorry ... My screen just updated me on the time needed to get it back (I hope)@: 14 hours remaining!!!

    Vladimir Acronis if you read this and have suggestions, please let me know!!
     
  8. photogman

    photogman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    35
     
  9. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Your last sentence is right on the money. :oops: Using the bootable CD will lessen some of those problems. But it's your choice.
     
  10. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    When you made the backup, did you check the box for the drive or just the box next to the C partition?

    Does your hard drive have more than one partition? Many notebook drives have two or three partitions for utilities and OEM backups in addition to the C partition.

    If your drive has more than one partition and you restore only the C partition to another drive, there is no guarantee that the drive will be bootable. That's because the MBR or the boot.ini file may be pointing at the wrong partition for the boot files.

    What version of TrueImage and what build you are using? Did you make the TI Recovery CD from that build?

    What version of Windows XP are you installing?
     
  11. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
  12. hermanito

    hermanito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks to all. Currently I am restoring (trying to) the last back-up which I think should be good (they should be ALL if I am honest). I am trying to restore the full disk from my external 160Gb to another external 160Gb. The "middleman" is my laptop with the fist installation of Windows (Windows works, even if I back up that and restore again).

    If this works at least I have all my data on another external disk and I hope I can work with that on another computer.

    Question: Does anybody (or maybe ACRONIS HELPDESK) has a way to start off on a laptop with a first installation Windwos XP and than restore the full backup I have without Windows implemented in that back up? Or at least without touching the startup section of the working basic Windows?
     
  13. hermanito

    hermanito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Doing (trying) the process of restoring as described I winked "validate backup" and after a few hours I got the message that the archive is "corrupted" (while when I made this backup it was reported as good ...).

    Question: is it possible to repair a corrupted Acronis bachup file? This one is a full back up file. Now I am going back in time to a disk with incremental files ....
     
  14. hermanito

    hermanito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    AND .... the good news is that my computer restored a back-up from august 26, 2007. This means I did not loose my full (digital) life! Unfortunately I have no beer in the fridge, I needed one. Coffe instead. Now I am trying to find a next step by cheking with VALIDATE. To be honest I didn't know I had to do that to be sure that the back up was REALLY good! I by software with the idea that it takes work out of my hands and off my mind. After one week of trying to restore IO know better. I hope I am going to get more info on my internal harddisk and what I cannot get I will try to get by a company here in Holland who recovers data.

    While I was going through this process I was thinking about realtime back-ups and indeed I found something on the web: IOMEGA has some software (two hd's I am using during this process have the brand IOMEGA the external housing) and a programm called VICEVERSA PRO. This last one sounds promising. Next to the standard backupping this seems to solve a lot of hassle (IF IT WORKS ...). Anyone familiar with this programm?
     
  15. hermanito

    hermanito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    All has been working well on my laptop with the bu of august 2. I am nowmaking a CLONE of the disk. Not that this went immediately and automatically, but now it has already done 4% so I guess it is RUNNING. After that (can I validate a cloneo_O) I am going to try to travel further in time to come as close as possible to today's date ....
     
  16. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    You can't run a Validation on a Clone, only image backups.
     
  17. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    We might be more help if you answered the questions asked. Check back over the last few posts and let us know what you are using, etc.
     
  18. hermanito

    hermanito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    I think that the backup of august 26 is the latest I can get out of my archives. That at least works. I am making a CLONE from this running situation so that if something happens I have a CLONE of a working situations for the company who might be able to restore the missing days (august 26 - till september 11 in the evening). The Clone just announced to be ready, so I can try to het some of the back up back that I have (though corrupted) in a back up dated september 11 in the morning. If that works out by myself or by the companmy who does recoverywork, I only will miss one day of work.
     
  19. hermanito

    hermanito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    By the way, the more time I spend here, the more I realise I am not the only one having this problem. And no Acronis answers ... There is definitely a problem in the programm! And I hate to spend my time to try to get things working while I paid for something which was supposed to work. I originally bought this product as it was said to be able to backup Outlook. I tried and it did not work. I asked my money back and than I was asked to wait a few weeks as the solution was coming up with a next build. So I decided to wait and in fact never used it as I did full disk back-ups. The rest of the story s known ....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.