Nlite & new laptop

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rico, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Guys,

    With my new laptop I received an XP Pro 'recovery' disc:

    1. Can I use n lite to make a windows installation disc?

    2. Will I need activation key, if I install or will this be built in from the 'recovery'
    disc?

    Take Care
    Rico
     
  2. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    If its a proper windows installation disk then yes you can use nlite. As long as you don't remove the wrong components activation shouldn't be necessary.
     
  3. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi FarmerLee,

    Thanks for commenting.

    Problem copied Recovery disc contents to the drive & pointed n-lite to the i386 folder with no luck. nlite complained be sure i386 folder is on the hdd. I suspect the problem resulted as i386 folder contains only two files.

    Structure of Recovery disc:

    3GENO <daughter folders & files next line>

    i386 folder contains files NTDetect.com, setupldr.bin

    Recovery folder <daughter folder> FJDRV files FJGPN.sys, GPNvlib.dll, & setupdrv.exe

    Image folder contains two files image.crc, & image.fc2

    Note the big file on the Recovery disc is "Image.fc2"

    Note the FJ in the file name refers to Fujitsu, the mfg of the laptop.


    My Goal: Desktop = XP Home & Laptop = XPpro.

    XPhome I have a legitmate M$ disc, Laptop = recovery disc.

    XPhome has Acronis for backups to ext hdd.

    So the goal becomes n-lite the recovery disc (xppro) make a BartPE, to include DriveImage XML's plugin, with this a new hdd could restored.

    Thanks & Take Care
    Rico
     
  4. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Yeh it sounds like its not a proper windows installation disk so nlite won't be able to work with it. I don't know if theres a way to work around it. I had a similar problem with a laptop i used to have, i ended up using XPlite to customize my windows however its not free unfortunately.
     
  5. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi FarmerLee,

    I did some futzing with the Recovery disc, tried to make a copy from hdd to dvd. It was the first time i used 'Image Burn' when I compared the disc to the contents of hdd's Recovery folder; I had many new folders & lots of files, previously not seen. With high hopes & great expectations, I pointed n-lite to the new folder with the many new files & folders, i386 folder, results failure. So it's back to the drawing board.

    Take Care
    Rico
     
  6. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi,

    New approach used BartPe, which found one usable Windows on hdd to use. Added the 'drive image xml' plugin. All went well 0 errors, 1 warning (not sure what the warning is/was about), burned to DVD verification OK.

    After the DVD ejected, tried booting from it, seems like nothing changed same old windows. Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 14, 2008
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    is your bios set to boot from cd before hard drive?
     
  8. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Lodore,

    Hi just checked the BartPE disc on my desktop. SUCCESS:D

    So now I'll check the boot order on the laptop.

    Thanks & Take Care
    Rico
     
  9. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi,

    Changed the boot order and all is well.

    Next: Imake backups to an ext. hdd, using Acronis, would it be ok to backup the laptop to the same ext hdd using Drive image xml?

    Other than filling up more quickly any other problems I might encounter using two backup program from two machines??

    Thanks & Take Care
    Rico
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.