NIS potentially blocking internet access?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by masqueofhastur, Nov 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. masqueofhastur

    masqueofhastur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    My GF's laptop won't give her access to the net except via WLM. She can chat with me, but can't access anything else. She has NIS on it. When it's Norton and not Symantec I know odds are it's causing a problem. If NIS is the source of the problem, how would she find out? I don't have experience with NIS, so I don't know anything more specific to ask.
     
  2. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    What version is she running?
     
  3. masqueofhastur

    masqueofhastur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    Newest version I'm assuming. It's a subscription on a computer bought in the last couple of months.
     
  4. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Have you asked the symantec support? :)

    Maybe some rules in the firewall are blocking? Does she have a serial number? Then maybe a uninstall -> reinstall would solve the problem :)
     
  5. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    You might can try Amy's solution posted here.
     
  6. masqueofhastur

    masqueofhastur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    Amy's solution seems to have helped somewhat. She can connect to the net on and off now.
     
  7. amysheehan

    amysheehan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA

    Please post what kind of issues are being reported along with the Product Version and we can do some detective work thru Log Viewer and the Event logs.

    Also need OS version and whether add-on pack is installed for more definitive solutions.



    -amy-:-*
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.