NIS 2011 identity safe problem

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ellison64, Dec 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Ive made various folders in identity safe such as SHOPPING , fORUMS , etc ,and in each folder login entries are set to auto fill when visiting the page.However Ive noticed that in the identity safe drop down menu in firefox (which is the browser i use ),only 10 folders will show ,no matter how many additional folders I add to identity safe.Ive also posted at norton forums but havent had much success as to what the problem is.Are there any other norton/identity safe /firefox users that have this same problem?.
    Using w7 64bit.
    tia
    ellison
     
  2. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    No one using identity safe and firefox?
    ellison
     
  3. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    Give people more time to respond. It's New Years Day. People are still drunk or hung over. :)
     
  4. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Yes if you drink alcohol, wich I don't since I hate the taste:D
     
  5. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    amatuers;)

    ellison
     
  6. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Why? :rolleyes:
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Try vodka it tastes pretty much like whatever you mix it with.;)
     
  8. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Well a decent drinker would get stonefaced and still be able to respond :).....if he cant then he would be regarded as an "amateur" in these parts ;)
    ellison
     
  9. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    I do not think that drinking is something to brag, that's all. So I was curious what you think about drinking. :doubt:
     
  10. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Well thats your opinion and whose bragging?.See the smilies it was a joke.;)
    everything in moderation my friend.
    ellison
     
  11. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    I hope this helps :'(

    use the Identity "Safe back up" to make the most current back up of all your logins.

    Then Logout of the program and use a "incorrect password" to force the program to reset everything. When you enter an incorrect password 2 or 3 times, ID Safe will reset and restore itself to a new install.

    Then it find a previous profile. It also ask for your previous password. Please enter your correct password. Then load, and you will have to check your "Cards & Log-in" dropdown menu, ALL of your log-ins should have been restored and the autofill feature working again.
     
  12. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Thanks for the reply.I tried that ,but unfortunatley im still only able to view a max of 10 folders in firefox dropdown.I dont know whether this is normal or not.I guess i need a user with firefox and identity safe to check whether they can enter more than 10 folders ,and see if it shows on firefox dropdown.
    ellison
     
  13. dschrader

    dschrader AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Posts:
    54
  14. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Hi..
    I ve already posted in norton forums as stated in my first post ,and recieved less response than here ,hence me posting here.I guess there isnt anyone that actually uses identity safe with firefox ,otherwise i would imagine i would get a response one way or another.
    ellison
     
  15. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    Did any of them mention drinking? Just kidding....watching the thread....
     
  16. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Lol....no the only one drinking is me because of the frustration :)
     
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    I had been using NIS 2011 with Firefox but recently uninstalled it and am currently using something else. I never found identity safe to be robust enough for my needs so I really didn't pay much attention to it. It always had the right account info for the site I was on so I never really used the drop down menu. Are you trying to get info out of it for a site you are not currently on and having problems with that? Or are you just irritated that it should be showing more than 10?

    I am currently using Sticky Password (not free) but if I weren't I would be using KeePass with KeeFox for Firefox. A very effective combination for free.
     
  18. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    If you cannot resolve the problem you're having with Identity Safe consider LastPass. It's free and much more capable in my experience.
     
  19. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Hi..
    Im just irritated that only 10 folders show in firefox dropdown menu and not knowing whether this is specific to my setup or whetehr the same happens for other folks.As it happens im also using sticky password.I bought a licence a while ago after the roboform rip off and vowed not to use roboform again.I used NIS 11 for a while and thought id try the identity safe as it was part of the suite..
    ellison
     
  20. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    hi..
    I dont really like the idea of in the cloud password and prefer them locally,so thats why i havent really looked into lastpass that much as i understand passwords are stored on thier servers?.I dont really want to get into whether its safe or not...i just prefer passwords on my pc alone.
    ellison
     
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    I couldn't agree with that more, I will only have my password where nobody, and I mean nobody else can access them.

    If I understand correctly you said you had the same problem with Sticky Password? I have over 60 accounts saved in Sticky Password and all of them show up in either IE or Firefox. Those are all in the same folder though. If you are talking about having more than 10 groups of folders I haven't tried that. I may do some testing and see what I can duplicate.


    -Edit- Ok what I can say right now is that with the machine I have at the moment with KeePass and KeeFox that after creating a bunch of extra folders they all display in Firefox as expected. If you want me to look into Sticky Password it will have to wait until later.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2011
  22. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Ireland
    I have set up a virtual machine with Windows 7 32-bit and installed Firefox 3.6.13 and Norton Internet Security 18.5.0.125.

    Suggestion from what I have observed: create a new folder and immediately close all settings' windows. Open the settings again and create a new login in that newly created folder. How many folders now show?
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2011
  23. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Hi ..
    No sticky password works fine with firefox.Its only nis identity safe that doesnt.Thats why im now using sticky password.
    ellison
     
  24. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    HI.
    Malexous...
    Ive uninstalled NIS and using AIS at the moment (as identity safe was one of the advantages for me) ,so ill have to reinstall NIS again to try it (ive saved the identity safe passords file so no problem there).Before I insall though ill clarify what the problem was.In manage logins i could make as many folders as i wished and they would all show (in manage logins gui ) whether or not there was url login within the folders.
    However firefox would show only 10 folders regardless of this.Can you confirm this behaviour too without having to close settings windows
    Thanks
    ellison
     
  25. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Ireland
    The behaviour I was seeing yesterday was because of something I was doing. In my parent's laptop and my virtual machine, it works fine. More than ten folders show in Firefox.

    As long as there is login information in a folder, that folder will show in Firefox.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.