NIS 2009, does it block banner adds?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by xpsunny, Dec 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xpsunny

    xpsunny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    ...........
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    im not sure if it does, but it doesnt really need to, i just use adblock with firefox and dont worry anymore + HostsMan hosts file blocks a lot of those ads as well.
     
  3. Pseudo

    Pseudo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Posts:
    193
    Nope.
     
  4. ink

    ink Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    185
    Yes, with the add-on installed.
     
  5. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi xpsunny :)


    I'm sorry to tell you...

    No! ... NIS 09 ... Does NOT Block - Banner Ads :(

    Not even with an - Add On Pack :mad:

    I know what you're asking about...
    Coz I used to have - Norton 360 v1
    That did have a - Add On Pack ... That gave the ability to block - Pop Ups & Banner Ads :D
    Then I upgraded to - Norton 360 v2
    And was very angry when I realised... The Add On Pack .. No Longer Included The - Pop Up Blocker & Banner Ad Blocker :mad:


    I Now Have - NIS 09
    Despite Many Complaints .. From Many people...
    Symantec still decided Not to include - Pop Up Blocking & Banner Ad Blocking ... With - NIS 09 :rolleyes:
    Not even as an - Add On Pack! :'(


    Stupid! ... Isn't It? :mad:
     
  6. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    The way I see it is, that there's no real need for it anymore, since you can get AdBlock plus for Firefox and IE7 Pro for IE. And these sweethearts is for free....so no real need for extra stuff in NIS 2009


    Cheers
     
  7. xpsunny

    xpsunny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    163

    Oh nooooooooo..............................:oops:
     
  8. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    o yes
     
  9. xpsunny

    xpsunny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    What makes you say that?
     
  10. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    Many modern browsers have built-in popup blocking now, and there are addons for ad blocking in most cases.
     
  11. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Tony :)

    I Know! ;)

    But The Thing Is...

    The Norton Pop Up Blocker & Banner Ad Blocker ... Really Did Do A Fantastic Job :D

    No Fuss
    No Hassle
    No Problems

    But it was something you only appreciated if you saw the - Before & After
    ON - OFF
    I saw what the Ad Blocker could do for IE7 :eek:
    And I can see why Symantec have upset people by removing this function.

    They took out the best bit :'(

    Gave Us Flamin - Idle Time .. Instead! :mad:
     
  12. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    In 2009 products Symantec primordial objective was " take out " the bloat . I am not saying that Ad block function made some bloat in the suit , but Symantec tried to make Nis more lighter and faster possible so some modules have to simple disappear.
     
  13. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi :)

    Symantec Sure Got It Wrong Then :rolleyes:

    Norton 360 v1 ... Pop Up Blocker & Banner Ad Blocker ... Never Noticed Any Bloat! :D

    NIS 09 ... Idle Time - ( Pain In The Bum! ) ... Most Bloated Norton - Ever! :mad:
     
  14. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784

    Yeah I think so . I fell some slowdown with Idle time either ... for this reason I dont use Norton 2009 products :'(
     
  15. osubuck

    osubuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I can't speak for NIS but I did try the trial of Norton Antivirus 2009, and it is one of the lightest I have tried yet. Seems to do a fantastic job with a very small footprint, completely the opposite of its former products.
     
  16. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    Norton 2007 blocks banner ads. Later versions dropped the feature.

    The feature is expected to make a comeback; many users requested it for the 2010 year release in the Norton forums.
     
  17. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark

    Correction....The 2008 version had it as well, if you installed the add-on pack, that is ;)


    Merry Christmas
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.