NIS 2008

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Aug 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Is due out 9/11. Here is a download that will get you there untill the release. It is good for 30 days. Trying it now and it isnt bad.

    NIS 2008
     
  2. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Good to hear.
    maybe it is time to change your avatar?;)
     
  3. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    This has to be the older build as the date of the article is 7 July. The latest build came out on August 1.
     
  4. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    I hope they do go final with '08 by that time. As of right now I cannot return to '07. In '07 everything is fine until the reboot after the LiveUpdate process at which time I lose internet connection. I have used the Removal Tool several times and also manually deleted entries in the registry. I remove '07 and then I get internet back. I have installed Avast!, Trend, and even OneCare and still have an internet connection. NIS '07 just will not let me connect. This didn't happen until the latest beta build.

    So I am stuck with the '08 Beta until the final comes out. If it takes longer than 18 days (which is left on this trial) I can stick the Trend back in (I still have 6 months left on it) to get me through till the final is out. But I am hoping on an new build between now and then.
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Well , a year ago I have tried Norton IS 2005 and 2006 versions . With IS I had exactly the same problem as you describe . No netowork connection after update . After some investigation I came to a conclusion it was Norton's firewall that causes the problem . I didn't have such problems with their antivirus .
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Pretty much my same experience with Esets suite.
     
  7. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I had the same problem with NIS 2007 and uninstalled it. Alternate between using paid versions of Avira and NOD32 AV. I use Windows XP firewall-keeps the bad guys out-once they are in, no software is likely going to keep them from phoning home. Big myth about the efficacy of outbound protection-its a scam to sell software.

    Norton still has problems. Was curious about NIS 2008 beta, but I want to avoid the aggrevation. Looks like problem is still unresolved.
     
  8. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    There is something about the latest beta build which caused the problem. I had no problem going from the first beta build back to '07.

    This is what you expect dealing with betas anyway.
     
  9. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Oh well, my trial came to a premature end. I came home this evening to find a dialog box telling me that the trial subscription has ended though yesterday it said I had 17 days left. So I had no choice but to uninstall the beta and install my copy of TMIS '07 which still has five months left on it's subscription. I would have liked to stick FSIS '07 back on it but I only have a couple of weeks left on it's subscription. So I am back with the Trend until NIS '08 goes final.

    Interesting thing is that it found an adware, AdwareBrilliantDigitalEntertainment, on the computer. NIS 07-08 didn't pick it up but SAS and various online scanners didn't pick it up either.
     
  10. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    I'm curious if you have ANY idea how you contracted this adware. Did you install some questionable softwre ?
     
  11. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    I am not sure where or when this was picked up. It could have been on here as far back as March when I installed NIS. I could have picked it up when I was "testing" Vista's and NIS's defenses some time back by venturing into the "darkside". It might have only been a partial download as all it picked up was a couple of registry entries, no rogue folders or executables.

    Also notice that Vista is not on the list of affected OS's.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.