Nis 2007 memory usage

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jubilee, May 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jubilee

    jubilee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    hi


    i read that nis 2007 is a nice and reliable suite but i want to ask how much memory eat compare with Kis 6.0

    did you experienced slowdown's?


    thanks
     
  2. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Just try.
    On my pc KIS is lower on resources
     
  3. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    From what I have seen by various screenshots on this forum, NIS 2007 memory usage varies on XP & Vista.

    See here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=982555&postcount=10

    I don't know if this is accurate or not for Vista: http://img515.imageshack.us/my.php?image=symantec2007mg7.jpg

    KIS 6.0 has 2 processes (avp.exe) that use a combined total of 14MB on my XP rig.

    In the end some claim Norton uses less resources, but most claim KIS uses less. Honestly if you have 1GB of ram or more it doesn't matter IMHO. There is no denying that Norton takes forever to install compared to KIS. :p
     
  4. tsilo

    tsilo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    376
  5. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Mine uses 7.2MB in 5 processes. I have seen some people posting 20MB+ in usage but I don't remember which OS they are using. It would be interesting to compare usage between XP and Vista. I am just speculating but since Vista's kernel is "locked down" it may not require as much added protection. Heck I even read a few posts where some Vista users don't even use an AV. I wouldn't trust it that far though.
     
  6. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    For Windows XP users it's memory usage is around 32MB max when running it with the add-on pack. These values are confirmed in CHIP magazine. For running without the add-on pack the memory usage will be around 7MB lower.

    (I forgot to mention the values were with the the add-on pack installed... thanks midway40)
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2007
  7. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Thanks Sputnik :)

    I forgot to take in account for the Add-on Pack's added RAM usage. I do not use this so this may be why my usage is low.

    I would still like to see some others here using both XP and Vista posting their RAM usage (and specify if they are using the Add-on Pack or not).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.