NIS 2004 Pro Blocking Mcafee Spamkiller 2004

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Taz5, Jul 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Taz5

Taz5 Registered Member

Hello all...
    I have been running Norton Firewall for several years now, and am very familiar with it's settings and advanced features... BUT I have recently run into a problem that has me quite frustrated... and I am hoping someone may be able to help me out.
    I recently purchased McAfee's Spam Killer 2004. I have been using the older 4.0 version for quite some time now, and figured an upgrade was maybe in order... :)
    Since Norton, and McAfee are in competetion with each-other, neither has any information posted on their web-sites, and norton does not recognize McAfee Spamkiller as a Auto-configurabe application. Basically, in order to complete the SpamKiller set-up, I had to disable my firewall temporarily.
    Set-up is now complete, and I can't get Spamkiller to run correctly, unless I disable NIS. With the firewall running, if I try to open MSK, it says "Spamkiller is unable to communicate with it's server... <etc>". If I disable NIS, it runs great.
    So I looked into the NIS logs, and noticed this:

-------------
    Details: Rule "Implicit block rule" blocked (localhost,2010)
    Inbound TCP connection
    Local address,service is (localhost,2010)
    Remote address,service is (localhost,1611)
    Process name is "C:\Program Files\McAfee\SpamKiller\MSKSrvr.exe"
    -------------

I have already set a rule to allow localhost (127.0.0.1) access to the ports that appear in the logs that are blocked. But it continues to block it out... I have verified that the MSKSrvr.exe (along with other MSK executables) are in the program list with "Permit All" access.

What is the "Implicit rule block", and is that my problem? Anyone know a work-around or a filter I may need to add/modify/remove to help my Spamkiller work....

Thanks for the time!!
    Brandon

2. CrazyM