nf4 firewall any good?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by 4444, Dec 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 4444

    4444 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    I can't find a hardware firewall section so I'll ask here.

    On the nforce4 mobo's is an integrated firewall.
    Is this any good or is it just a gimmick?
    Any reviews/tests or opinions?
     
  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Hi 4444

    This is the right forum for your topic.

    I have not seen much discussion on the NVIDIA firewall yet.
    Found a reference to ICSA Labs certification earlier this year on the NVIDIA site, so I doubt it is a gimmick. The ICSA Labs Certification Report. From some brief reading, it sounds interesting and look forward to seeing/getting some user feedback. Is this something you are using?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  3. 4444

    4444 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    I want to get a 939 computer.
    The integrated firewall on the nf4 sounds like a big bonus.
    For now I'm waiting for an Abit or DFI nf4 board to come out.
    But if the nf4 firewall is not that usefull I'll no longer wait and get a cheaper nf3 or kt800 mobo.
    So an nf4 user's view would be most welcome.

    (nf4 uses version 2.0 an overhauled version of the nf3 version 1.0)
     
  4. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
  5. 4444

    4444 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks for your replies.
    I've been reading up on the nf4 firewall and it seems like an exellent feature.

    My modem/router zyxel prestige 650-31 has a firewall.
    But for me that firewall is useless.
    I can only open or close ports in general.
    I can't tell it to open certain ports for specific programs.

    The nf4 firewall "activearmor" has an application manager (http://www.nvidia.com/object/feature_activearmor.html)
    It should work pretty much like software firewall (kaspersky).

    This nf4 firewall looks so promising I'll wait for dfi or abit to come out with their nf4-sli boards, hopefully this month.
     
  6. RegLater

    RegLater Guest

    Hello.

    I was just doing some testing of my nV Firewall with my Chaintech VNF4/Ultra.

    I had the Firewall set to it's highest protection (outside of complete lockdown), and tested it with grc.com's Leaktest.

    Sadly, the firewall failed miserably. The firewall DOES alert you to Leaktest trying to access the internet, and allows you to deny access.

    HOWEVER, if you run LeakTest in stealth mode, OR if you rename LeakTest to the name of an accepted application (like iexplore.exe), it completely fails and allows the application to communicate.

    I am VERY disappointed in this, because I was very psyched about this new feature of offloading a large chunk of firewall activity to hardware, thus freeing up the CPU.
     
  7. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    So if one was not happy with the ActiveArmor Firewall could it just be disabled and a software firewall used. Im wondering if there would be any conflicts with a software firewall, Sygate for example?
     
  8. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    That is a disappointment - and something well worth noting also. Thanks for posting this.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.