Newbies....

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by sexdrugsnrocknroll, Jul 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sexdrugsnrocknroll

sexdrugsnrocknroll Registered Member

Hi all, newbie here.

May i be so bold as to ask a question?

I have read many informative threads here, and appreciate the knowledge of all contributors. However, my question is this:

I have a brand new computer and i am looking to build a protection system from scratch. Given that i am proficient but not as knowledgeable as others, what programs would you include to build the most impenetrable defense possible (free or pay). So many good programs, but you can only have so many b4 clashes/costs etc etc.

Here's my list of qualifiers, many taken from recommendations from this site.

Firewall: Look'n'Stop - 30 day trial.
    AV: ESET NOD32 - 30 day trial. (from KAV)

Spyware:
    Spyware Blaster
    Spyware Guard
    AVG Free
    Spyware Doctor
    Spybot S & D
    Spyware Terminator
    Ad-Aware
    Windows Defender

Registry
    CCleaner
    Registry Mechanic
    Reg Seeker

ID Blaster
    MRU Blaster
    Appdefend
    Regdefend

Have i overdone it?

I'm thinking, perhapso_O

However the question remains, with all the products out there how does a newbie go about building a reasonably reliable defense?

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

1. I would greatly trim the antispyware list. Just use AVG AS and/or SUPERAntiSpyware.

2. I would only use one registry cleaner, but ill leave it to you.

3. I dont think MRU Blaster is necessary with CCleaner.

And for your last question. A newbie can start by reading these forums and learning about all the various programs. Then he or she should try some of teh programs and see how well they run on the computer.

3. GES/POR

GES/POR Registered Member

Out of those youve mentioned for spyware id go with spyware blaster and doctor and about the reg id go with mechanic.

4. ThunderZ

ThunderZ Registered Member