Newbie's questions...

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by MessOfBlues, Jun 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MessOfBlues

MessOfBlues Registered Member

Hi,

I am new to Wilders and have spent the last couple of hours browsing through the forum. It's a great forum! Everyone seems to be so helpful! I hope some of you would be kinda enough to answer some of my questions. They may sound silly to you, but i am a complete idiot with these things (the only security utilities i have ever used were Norton Internet Security, Norton Anti-Virus and ZoneAlarm Free).

Norton is causing a lot of problems on my laptop, and i am considering McAfee Internet Security 2006. I read from their website it's subscription based. Can someone tell me what do they mean by that? Does it mean after the initial 12 month subscription, i will have an option to extend (or upgrade) it? If i extend my subscription, will i get to use the 2007 version? Or am i stuck with the old 2006 suite?

I've read a lot of positive reviews about KAV and KIS 2006, and am quite interested in them. But i am such an idiot with these things and wonder if they are too 'difficult' for a newbie. It seems KAV and KIS 2006 are not compatible with a lot of other software, and there are instances where the speed of the connection are affected. Is KAV 2006 compatible with ZoneAlarm Free? If not, is KIS 2006's firewall too difficult for a newbie? Coz' i only have experiences with ZoneAlarm Free, and nothing else.

Another suite i am considering is the F-Secure Internet Security 2006 (coz' a local retailer is selling it at a special price). How does it compare with McAfee and KIS? Is it on a subscription basis? Just like McAfee (i cannot find any information on this)? I have read it's a resource hungry application. My laptop runs a P4 1.8 CPU with 1GB of SDRAM. Is it capable of running F-Secure?