Newbie Problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Thira, Aug 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Thira

    Thira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Just purchased a Dell Inspiron Laptop for my daughter starting college. First thing I did was install Acronis True Image, as I wanted to mirror the new system. The system came with a Sony DVD burner and the latest firmware. Software included Sonic DLA. My Built on True Image is 903.
    I am using DVD-RW. After formatting the DVD-RW, when I try to do a complete backup of the "C" Drive, at the Commit Pending Operation screen, nothing happens. The screen comes up, but no bars happen in the Current operation progress or total progress lines.
    Any help is greatly appreciated so that I can mirror this drive.
    Thanks
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  3. Thira

    Thira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Irina Shirokova, thanks for responding. I have the latest build, my software is registered, and I already have an account. Prior to attempting the Image creation, I had already read the FAQ you had referenced.
    The program simply hangs when proceeding to do the Image.
    I have tried searching your site and ATI site, but I still cannot make the Image. I have tried DVD-RW and DVD-R, first formatting but to no avail. The software that came from Dell with the DVD-\+R\RW is Sonic\Veritas DLA and the burner itself is a Sony.
    BTW, Veritas DLA is UDF packet DVD-writing software approved on the Acronis True Image site referenced by you.
    Any suggestions would greatly be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2005
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Thira,

    Could you please let me know what error message you have whent try to create an image to DVD?

    Also please note that a possible workaround is to create image archives on local or network hard drives specifying the image archive split size and burn them to DVDs later.

    We will certainly implement direct DVD recording in Acronis True Image in the future

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thira,

    Others have reported being able to image the C: drive to the C: drive. I assume you have a single partition with plenty of free space. Why not try this. Choose to split the image to 2 GB files. Burn the image files with your Sonic software (not DLA).

    Let us know if this works.

    PS There should be a hidden Ghost Restore partition on your Inspiron. There was on mine but Dell may have stopped doing that. I'm not sure.
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Thira,

    Assuming you are using Windows XP, try disabling its built-in CD/DVD drag and drop recording feature as follows:

    Open My Computer, right click on your Sony burner and select Properties. On the Properties page, select the Recording tab and untick the "Enable CD recording on this drive" checkbox.

    If that doesn't work and you decide to use the alternative two-step method then use 1492 MB as the image split size rather than 2 GB. This will enable you to burn up to three .tib files per DVD, thereby maximizing the usable space available.

    Regards
     
  7. Thira

    Thira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Funny .....next day ,booted up and did the image....no problem. Thank all.
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Thira,

    An explanation (of sorts!). On occassion TI's scheduler service fails to kick in when Windows starts up. TI requires this service when it creates images, irrespective of whether you have set up an imaging schedule or start the image creation process yourself manually. As you found out, a system reboot normally gets the service up and running again.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.