Newbie/Operation in Progress takes forever

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by uzapuca, Nov 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. uzapuca

uzapuca Registered Member

Hi guys, I am very new at Acronis True Image. I would like to make an image of my just installed Windows XP with all the drivers (I do not know if the same than making a backup). Anyhow, I have to Hard Disks, I decided to use a partition of the Disk 2, to make the backup of windows, I believe I did everything correctly but now the Acronis Operation Progress says "Preparing...current operation in progress" and the bar will now move, and the Preparing stuff is more than an hour by now. I believe it just hangs itself. Does anybody knows what could be?

By the way is the Acronis Security Zone the same place to make back ups?

Sorry for the newbie question, I did check the FAQ, but I did not find a satisfying answer and also english is not my native language as you might see.

Thanks for any help and best.

Sebastiao

2. Long View

Long View Registered Member

Sebastiao - agreed something is wrong.

I would forget all about Acronis Security Zone initially.

Just try to make a full image of you C: drive to the 2nd drive. Assuming you are using Acronis 10 you should:

start the program
    click on backup
    next
    my comupter
    next
    tick C:
    next
    find your second drive
    make sure that the folder reads something like G:\Mybackup.tib
    next
    create full backup
    use default options
    next
    next proceed

should take a few minutes unless Xp and programs are very large.

I assume the 2nd drive/ partition is big enough to take the back up ?

3. Xpilot

Xpilot Registered Member

It would help those responding to your query if you specified which version and build number of True Image your are using.