Newbie: How do I find the infected file in the scan log?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by pgerrish, Aug 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pgerrish

    pgerrish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Brand new to NOD32 (single wks Windows version) and installed it today (using the shortcut method to set it up to BlackSpear Extra settings.) All seems to have gone OK - although install was alarmingly fast (thought it hadn't done anything, just rebooted).

    I have done my first on demand scan (scan only, not scan and clean) - I heard one bleep so I know there is one identified threat/infection and at the bottom of the log is confirmation of one threat found. How do I quickly find it to right click it so I can identify it and tell it to clean- the log contains 440,000 file entries and scrolling to look for one red entry is impossible almost. I could tell it to rescan with clean but this would mean another full scan taking 45 minutes. I know I am missing something obvious.
    The "Threat Log" is empty and the "Event Log" gas entry saying "Alert has been generated see the Scan log".

    Is it possible to tell it to log only threats or infections in the log and not all files scanned i.e. the important information?

    thanks for your help with what I am sure has an obvious answer.

    Paul
    Sheffield UK
     
  2. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Uncheck 'list all files' before a scan usually helps, but there will still be some locked files depending on what you have installed and running.
     
  3. pgerrish

    pgerrish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Many thanks - that seemed to ahve been turned on by default with the preconfig BlackSpear settings and that has helped, I have rescanned and found the java Trojan

    Paul
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Paul, welcome to Wilders.

    I leave it off in the Tutorial.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    I've noticed that too - looking at the supplied config vs what you have posted in the tutorial - a little adjustment here and there. It may well be unintentional but if it says 'Blackspears Settings' then it really out to be exactly them IMHO.

    Cheers :)
     
  6. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I noticed a error every time Nod32 quarantined a file. I went to look what was in the infected file, I saw I didn't have a quarantine folder. So I made one, it works nice.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2006
  7. pgerrish

    pgerrish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Many thanks for the good work. I did the install an carried out a scan, saw all 440,000 files listed and then satrtde to hunt around. I then when through the tutorial and found the slight difference with the all files chcekbox.

    In retropect the tutorial is clear and I may have been better just spending the 10 minutes configuring it from that rather than using the quick install.

    Paul
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    My pleasure Paul.


    I think a new user ought to take a run through at least once, this will give them a feel for NOD32 and take some of the fear and mystery out of installing a new antivirus.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.