Newbie, can you help me uninstall?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by andreah1, Nov 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Ok, I thought I was in the intermediate area of computer knowledge but when it comes to Acronis 11 I guess I'm def. a novice! I installed the program on my computer and it totally ate up just about all that was left of free space on my computer. I have an 80 gb hard drive and had quite alot of space left so obviously I screwed something up somewhere. I tried uninstalling so that I can buy an ext. hard drive and do this the right way but even after uninstalling my hard drive free space has not changed and my computer is just limping along. I emailed Acronis about 3 days ago and still nothing. All I want to do is completely wipe it from my computer for now. When I do a system check it used to say my hard drive was around 69 gb's, now it sasy NTFS 25.59 gb and nothing even about it being an 80 gb hard drive to start with!!!! I'm a little scared and DEFINATELY don't want to resort to doing a total restore and lose all my "stuff". Can anyone help me to uninstall this?
    By the way, I tried a system restore and that won't let me go back to the time before I installed Acronis.

    Thanks,
    Andrea
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Did you by chance create a Secure Zone when you first installed True Image? If you did, you have to delete it. The best way to do so is to create the bootable Rescue CD (you may have to install True Image again to do so) and use that CD to Manage The Secure Zone.

    If you go into Disk Management (r-click on My Computer then select Manage then DM), do you see any unallocated space?
     
  3. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    I'm at work now so can let you know later. I tried to creat a secure zone and kept getting errors when it was doing sector 1 (the other 2 sectors seemed to work). But, I can find nothing on my computer about it.
    I don't understand why I would have to create a bootable cd to delete secure zone? Can you explain? Told ya, this program has kicked my behind, I can't understand it at all!!!! UGH! I'm assuming the secure zone (that it says it doesn't have) is what ate up my space but can't find it. Boy, did I ever screw up. Anyways, will post again this evening on the unallocated space.
     
  4. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Ok, I'm home now...I just right clicked as you instructed, this is what I saw - 3 lines. 1st - partition, basic, healthy (EISA config) 39 mb 39mb free. 2nd - partition, basic, healthy, unknown partition, 4.64gb, 4.64 gb free. 3rd - partition, basic, ntfs, healthy, system, 25.59 gb, 3.87 gb free. Does that help you at all?
    I tried going into Acronis and managing the secure zone but all it does is pop up with these 3 same partitions and asks where I want to take the free space from to create a secure zone. I assume that means I don't have a secure zone and to not do the bootable cd? Where the heck is my space then? How do I find it?
     
  5. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I'm not sure if the SZ will show up in Disk Management. I stay far far away from the SZ. When you went into "Manage Secure Zone" did you get the option to delete the SZ? If not, then I'm out of ideas.
     
  6. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    I got NO option to delete, it just asked me where I wanted to take the space for the zone (I assume to create one). I downloaded a program called DISKdata that shows how much space everything on the computer is using and acronis is HUGE...over 170mb's. Everything else looked normal. Not sure if you can answer this....if I uninstall acronis again and have the same problem (no space frees up), do you think it's ok to go into explore and manually delete any acronis files I find? The one that is eating up a bunch of space is under acronis called Fomatik (101mb's). Do I dare delete all that first then uninstall? Ugh, I just want this OFF my system til I get an external hard drive!!!!
     
  7. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Even that huge file doesn't account for the rest of the missing space. You have something else going on to make that space disappear. I still think the several attempts to create the SZ has something to do with it. It doesn't take much to make True Image do weird things. And version 11 seems to have more quirks than previous versions. (I'm still using and sticking with version 9).

    While you still have the software installed, make the Rescue CD. You will need to have it anyway if you are going to Recover your Backups with TI, in case of a hard drive crash.
     
  8. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183
    Well , on MY add/remove programs it shows MY Acronis #10 taking up 154 MB of space so I don't think that's too unusual-depends what version you have I think.:doubt:
     
  9. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Wow, you must have a large hard drive! I really want to get this off my c drive and put it on an external. Any ideas why when I remove it, it still gives me no space? Would you delete anything acronis you find after uninstalling it?
     
  10. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    As an aside a 150 megabyte program is not that large in the scheme of most of today's software.

    Anyhow, from your disk allocations mentioned above, I take it you have a brand name machine that has a diagnostics partition or maybe a bootable partition on it - 39MB. The 4.64GB partition sounds as though it might be a failed SZ.

    It does seem strange that from the info you've given, the operating system is located on the 3rd partition.

    Before removing this unknown space, check that your system doesn't have an image copy in this unallocated drive - check in your computer manual if it is a brand name machine.

    If you have Windows EXplorer set to displaying system files and folders, can you check if you have boot.ini in the root C:\ drive, and perhaps you could copy and paste it's contents here, before we go into removing this errant partition. Boot.ini is just a plain old text file.

    Colin
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    I suspect the 2nd partition is probably an OEM Recovery Partition and not the SZ. A 4GB SZ would be pretty useless. It wouldn't even hold one backup. Plus, I don't think TI would place the SZ in front of the Windows partition. It usually shrinks from the end and places it there.

    ----

    andreah1,

    Does any unallocated space show up in Disk Management in the drive graphic?

    Can you post a screenshot of Disk management? It may help.
     
  12. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    You hard drive space does not seem to equal 80GB. Perhaps some space is assigned to a Security zone.
    Why not post an attachment (as previous suggested by Mudcrab) showing us the image displayed by Disk Management. A picture really can be worth 1000 words.
    If needed, my signature below has an attachment how to link. There are Disk Management pictures inside the link.

    Note:
    Before capturing the Disk Management image, perform modifications to the screen image BEFORE you execute the actual capture using the PrintScreen keys.
    1. Do not use a maximized screen. With your disk management screen visible, grab the right margin and make the image only about half-screen width.
    2. Note the two full length horizontal bars. One bar in the middle of the image and the other bar is at the bottom of the image.
    a. Grab the middle bar and pull it upward to remove all the blank unused space.
    b. Grab the bottom bar and pull it upward so the info about CDrom devices are not show.
    3. Now your disk management image should be much smaller than originally displayed yet all the info should still be listed.
    4. Now perform the screen capture by holding down on the Alt key and pressing the PrintScreen key.
    This puts the capture into clipboard memory.
    5. Now open your favorite picture editor ( or MS Paint ) and paste the clipboard.
    6. If you like the picture (size), then, assign a name & save the file as a "jpg" type.
    7. Open your forum reply and upload the saved capture via the "Manage Attachments" feature.
    8. Bubba's procedures spells the details should you have a need.

    I really discourage you from adding a Secure Zone. If your drive fails, whatever backups are inside the secure zone is lost. Your current drive is too small anyway to hold multiple backups. An external drive (160 GB or greater recommended) would provide more storage space and it can be kept separate from the system hard drive.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2007
  13. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Hello Andrea,

    From the information you have given you do not have an Acronis TI secure zone on your computer at the present time. If there was one opening the manage secure zone wizard would give you the option to manage it or remove it. Since your only choice given is to create a zone you do not currently have one.
    BTW you do not need an Acronis recovery CD to manage the secure zone it can be done from the program in Windows or from the CD.
    However you will need to create a rescue CD to save your bacon should your system drive ever break down.

    It will be helpfull to see an image of Windows Disk Management because any unallocated space will be shown there and there are methods avaiable to bring it into use.

    Open Windows Disk Cleanup. This will be found in programs/Accessories/System tools. You should select all the items that are not needed such as temporary files and the recycle bin contents. There is a second page in the clean up tool where you can select to remove all but the latest System Restore point.
    Hopefully you will be amazed by the additional space that will be released. If I remember the defaults correctly the recycle bin and SR points can swallow up a total of 22% of the hard drive .

    It would be a mistake to save 170 MB by uninstalling TI and then installing it on an external drive. Best practice is to install programs on the same drive as the OS. Data on the other hand can be more efficiently handled in a separate partition of the internal drive.

    Xpilot
     
  14. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Wow, you guys have given me alot to do! :D I'm at work now but will do all this as soon as I can later this afternoon/evening. I'm not sure how to do a screen print, will be my first attempt, I will try diligently to use your instructions Grover to get it right. Bear with me once I do it!
    I agree, I don't have a secure zone but had plenty of space before I installed acronis and tried to create a zone. As I had said, I kept getting an error message on the first of 3 sectors it was creating but number 2 and 3 created fine...where they are is another story.
    I certainly don't mind keeping the actual program on my computer but def. don't have the room for the backups as mentioned. Honestly, I wanted an easy program that would just allow me to back up my entire c drive and so be it...this seems so confusing to me.
    Both of the small partitions were on my hard drive before acronis was there, when it gave me a choice of where to put it, all three were there to choose from, I had no idea what the 2 were so choose the system drive.
    I will also look for the boot.ini and copy/paste that here as well. I have a dell machine, can give you more specifics if needed?
    Thanks so much for trying to help me....will post later today and hopefully we can get this fixed! I JUST want my space back at this point and then try to understand acronis!
    Andrea o_O
     
  15. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    As for an easy backup & recover program, TrueImage does fit that description--at least as well as any other imaging program.

    Checkout my beginner guides. They willl guide you along. If you follow them, you should have the proper backup and able to do a successful restore.
     
  16. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Thanks Grover, will do my best and post later with the results. UGH!!!!
     
  17. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Ok guys, I think I managed the screen print. Phew...let me know what you think of it...my concern is why is the system partition only showing 25 when down below it says 69? If it means that much free space is missing...how do I find it, it happend after I tried to create the secure zone with acronis.

    Also, I copied and pasted boot.ini. I couldn't find it with explore so did a search and the only one it came up with was boot.ini.backup and this is what it said: [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Windows XP Media Center Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect


    Let me know what's next. I'm going to use Acronis right now to back up to cd.
     

    Attached Files:

    • dm.JPG
      dm.JPG
      File size:
      70.7 KB
      Views:
      10
  18. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    An excellent attachment. You could be the teacher for some of the other postings.:)
     
  19. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Thanks Grover, it was your great instructions! Now if we can figure out how to gain some space! I disabled goback, took a VERY long time, gained no space. As soon as I get a couple important things done on here I'm doing a backup to cd and will wait for any suggestions/ideas!
     
  20. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Backup to external drive. I do not trust backups direct to Cd. Too often, they do not work in recovery when needed.

    Your attachment reinforces your posting about the size discrepancy in your hard drive. The size of 69.82 capacity is normal based on what is allocated to the other two partitions. The picture also shows 21.19GB in use. That leaves an un-accounted discrepancy of 48.63GB (69.82 -21.19). Evidently something is not being displayed.

    Question for those persons having Acronis Disk Director 10. Would the trial version of this program be of any assistance here?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    It may not help but I would run error checking on the drive.

    Dbl Click on MyComputer icon.
    Right click on Drive C and select Properties.
    Click on the tools tab and select error checking. Checkmark the two options.
    System will reboot. Error checking could take a few hours. Overnight would be a good time to run.

    Hopefully some of the hardware experts will provide some insight soon.
     
  21. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    I don't have an external drive. Only choice is cd for now. I will try an error check overnight. How do we find the space that is not being displayed?
     
  22. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I'm hopeful some of the others will respond to my question above which relates to the missing space.

    Maybe the holidays can bring you a new external drive. You know... From you to you. If you have a few minutes, you might want to digest the problems discussed in the link below.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=191479
     
  23. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    I would also suggest running a chkdsk /r or even just a regular chkdsk /f on the partition (as GroverH suggests).

    This may just be a case of free space and/or available space being incorrectly reported because the system wasn't set back right after the SZ was removed/failed. If that's so, then chkdsk should be able to fix it. (If you have bad sectors, make sure to run chkdsk /r on the partition.)

    However, running chkdsk on the partition may cause further corruption. That's why it is extremely important to have a good, valid backup image before you run it.

    Assuming you do get a valid CD backup, you probably won't want to restore it from the CDs. It will be too much swapping. If at all possible, consider getting a USB hard drive for backups.
     
  24. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Sure is a weird one .... but then nothing with True Image surprises me anymore.

    Andreah, there is a vertical scroll bar in that image you posted. What does it reveal when you move it down?
     
  25. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    I think it's just the CD-ROM drive.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.