*NEW* ZoneAlarm 2012 product line released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by fax, Jun 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost


    ZA Extreme screenshots and ZA system requirements

    ... as usual please don't shoot on the messenger ... :ninja: :D :thumb:

    P.S. No release date for ZAfree has been set yet.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2011
  2. yonton228

    yonton228 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    Not shooting the messenger....

    FF4 supported FINALLY?

    About to find out :D

    *ETA* 248MB dl :S



    -yonton228
     
  3. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Thanks, revised initial post and included also system requirements.
     
  4. yonton228

    yonton228 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    It looks to include a behavioral scanner/ blocker? Interesting......time to test some stuff.




    -yonton228
     
  5. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,081
    Looks nice for people looking for a paid all-in-one solution, it's quite complete
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2011
  6. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Parental protection and backup looks like they just chucked it in without even bother trying to integrate.
     
  7. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,081
    Probably they bought it, I'm sure that those interfaces must be the same than other comercial products
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Do they have a sandbox?
     
  9. jasonblake7

    jasonblake7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    70
  10. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Yes, quoting from the above mentioned PCMAG article

     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
  12. yonton228

    yonton228 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    Seems like the scan is stuck....... 8 Hours and counting.....99%....... I will have to toy with it a bit more when I get back from work.



    -yonton228
     
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    very slow indeed:D
     
  14. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    A whole new engine?
    What AV is it using in v2012?
     
  15. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Nice to see BB tech in there :)
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    kaspersky;)
     
  17. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    it feels lighter on my system and it really is better . Is it for sure that it still uses Kaspersky? I wish it did.

    Edit. the security bar does not work on Mozilla FF 4 . Does anyone know why and when this will be fixed? I think i want that feature on and working..
     
  18. yonton228

    yonton228 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    28

    Working for me....

    Still gonna give it another week or so, however at this moment it looks like I will not be renewing my license in 90 days.... I will post a more thought out explanation later.


    -yonton228
     
  19. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Yes, it still uses the lastest SDK Kaspersky engine. The engine is equivalent to the latest been used in enterprise kaspersky products (or to be used, haven't checked where kaspersky is with the enterprise engine).

    I think some optimisation need to come in next releases related to the integration of forcefield into the toolbar but it should work fine on a clean FF4. For example, No-script add-on will break the toolbar. Try to start from a clean firefox profile.

    Fax
     
  20. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    Anyone know when the 2012 free ZoneAlarm firewall will be released?
     
  21. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks.
     
  22. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    everything is ok now and i am impressed so far. Scanning was a bit slower than the previous but generally speaking ZA is improving a lot in terms of performance :thumb: :thumb:
     
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Yes, I can see also improvements. It feels much lighter, bootup is faster, updates are faster too. First full "deep scan" is indeed somehow slow and I personally don't like the toolbar, too invasive... but I suppose we can't ask for everything :)
     
  24. yonton228

    yonton228 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    28

    Yeah.....The whole toolbar thing.....Not liking it. However even if I don't go with the entire suite/Extreme security I may stick with the AV/Firewall. I have been using the ZA firewall for years (5+) and have never looked back.



    -yonton228
     
  25. Spooony

    Spooony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    514
    Still no HIPS?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.