New x64 flash for Linux and Windows

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by linuxforall, Sep 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
  2. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    Thanks, finally, youtube is now playing on my debian system!
     
  3. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    The latest x64 in Linux uses less CPU than its predecessors and runs far better than x32 used with nsplugin, also webcam now works with this version.
     
  4. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    thanks for post guys
     
  5. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    How much is the CPU improvement?

    Anyone know now how much is the CPU gap between windows flash and linux flash?
     
  6. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    With the new one the gap is around 15% here.
     
  7. tlu

    tlu Guest

    It's available from this ppa.

    Does anybody know if the recent security leak is fixed in that preview?
     
  8. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    This being the latest beta, I am assuming that it woulnd't be vulnerable.
     
  9. tlu

    tlu Guest

    I'm trying it right now, and it works - but in fullscreen mode I only get unbearable flickering obviously due to an apparmor problem:

    It works in fullscreen if the profile is in complain mode. But why does flash want to write to /dev/nvidiactl ?
     
  10. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    Checking out the lowered CPU usage, I have a strong suspicion that graphics acceleration is finally working on Linux and flash, one of teh reasons its trying to access your nvdiactl.
     
  11. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Yeah, could be. Do you also have problems in fullscreen with the apparmor profile in enforce mode?
     
  12. tlu

    tlu Guest

    OK, since there were other problems I had to add the following lines to the FF profile:

    Code:
    #shockwave flash64
      /dev/nvidiactl rw,
      /dev/nvidia0 rw,
      /proc/interrupts r,
    Now fullscreen works. However, there are other apparmor messages concerning various files in /tmp, like this one:

     
  13. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    Wouldn't know, I do have app armor enabled but I am on Kubuntu and I use Opera here which doesn't have a apparmor profile.
     
  14. tlu

    tlu Guest

    The complete addtitions in the apparmor FF profile seem to be:

    Code:
    #shockwave flash64
      /dev/nvidiactl rw,
      /dev/nvidia0 rw,
      /proc/interrupts r,
      /tmp/**[^/] m,
    This keeps apparmor quiet.
     
  15. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    This also confirms that hardware acceleration is now on with Linux and flash, a great news indeed.:)
     
  16. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667

    Indeed! Firefox now only uses 6-7% cpu (with 70 tabs open) :argh:
    Maybe due to better flash rendering of ads?
     
  17. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    I am positive its hardware acceleration, only then its possible to reduce CPU usage.
     
  18. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    Yeah, I mean flash now consumes less CPU due to hardware acc.
     
  19. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    So far this new 64 bit libflashplayer works great on my wife's Facebook games (unlike the older versions). This is great news. Now I can finally convert our quad-core AMD Desktop over to 64 bit. I've been wanting for the longest time to be able to utilize its full potential but the sucky older 64 bit flash player prevented it. Again, great news.

    Thanks, Linuxforall, for the heads-up. :thumb:

    Later...
     
  20. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    You would also like the fact that webcam and mic finally works on x64 flash as well, there is also a ppa for Ubuntu in case anyone is interested.
     
  21. tlu

    tlu Guest

    I'm afraid it is - according to http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/flashplayer10/ it's only fixed in the new Preview 2 as of Sept. 27. Not yet updated in the ppa.
     
  22. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
  23. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Yep, I saw it.:thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.