New W7 Laptop

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Larry38, Apr 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Larry38

    Larry38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    Hi. Been awhile.

    I purchased a new Toshiba Laptop running W7 Home Premium 64 Bit, about a month ago. I am currently running the following Security programs. SpywareBlaster, MBAM Premium, Avast Free, Windows Firewall with SPHINX W7 controller, free version. Also MVPS Hosts File. I also have MSE and SAS on board as on demand scanners. I also have all my Restore and Troubleshooting DVDs made. I have been waiting for OA to release the completed version for 64 Bit.

    Last week I won a License for one year from ESET, at another security forum. Thought I might try it, since it is free. I need to know what to remove and how to go about installing ESET so as not to have any problems. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have gone from a 7 year old WXP to this W7 System so I'm new to this.

    Larry
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Eset what version? If Eset Smart Security, you wont need Sphinx, Avast & MSE. Disable MBAM from scanning while installing ESS and use the latest version.
     
  3. Larry38

    Larry38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    That would be Eset Smart Security. Is it easy to install? I do banking and such on my WXP Desktop, and since it is getting old, I want to lock down my laptop, so I can use it also.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    I think it is easy to install :)
     
  5. Larry38

    Larry38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    Thank You.:)
     
  6. Larry38

    Larry38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    I removed avast, Sphinx and MSE. Shut down MBAM and installed ESET Smart Security Version 4.2.40 seems to be running fine. One problem, I can't turn MBAM back on. Does it not work with ESET?

    Going to bed now.
     
  7. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  8. Larry38

    Larry38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    Not getting any error message. I posted this on MBAM, maybe they can give me some advice.
     
  9. Larry38

    Larry38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    FYI, just in case anyone else runs across this problem. MBAM had me do a clean install with ESS AS and AV turned off during install, then turn the AS and AV back on , now they are working together like old friends.:thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.