New W7 Laptop

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Larry38, Apr 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Larry38

    Larry38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    Hi. Been awhile.

    I purchased a new Toshiba Laptop running W7 Home Premium 64 Bit, about a month ago. I am currently running the following Security programs. SpywareBlaster, MBAM Premium, Avast Free, Windows Firewall with SPHINX W7 controller, free version. Also MVPS Hosts File. I also have MSE and SAS on board as on demand scanners. I also have all my Restore and Troubleshooting DVDs made. I have been waiting for OA to release the completed version for 64 Bit.

    Last week I won a License for one year from ESET, at another security forum. Thought I might try it, since it is free. I need to know what to remove and how to go about installing ESET so as not to have any problems. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have gone from a 7 year old WXP to this W7 System so I'm new to this.

    Larry
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Eset what version? If Eset Smart Security, you wont need Sphinx, Avast & MSE. Disable MBAM from scanning while installing ESS and use the latest version.
     
  3. Larry38

    Larry38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    That would be Eset Smart Security. Is it easy to install? I do banking and such on my WXP Desktop, and since it is getting old, I want to lock down my laptop, so I can use it also.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    I think it is easy to install :)
     
  5. Larry38

    Larry38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    Thank You.:)
     
  6. Larry38

    Larry38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    I removed avast, Sphinx and MSE. Shut down MBAM and installed ESET Smart Security Version 4.2.40 seems to be running fine. One problem, I can't turn MBAM back on. Does it not work with ESET?

    Going to bed now.
     
  7. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  8. Larry38

    Larry38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    Not getting any error message. I posted this on MBAM, maybe they can give me some advice.
     
  9. Larry38

    Larry38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    FYI, just in case anyone else runs across this problem. MBAM had me do a clean install with ESS AS and AV turned off during install, then turn the AS and AV back on , now they are working together like old friends.:thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.