new version v4

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by stratoc, Mar 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

  2. CrunchieBite

    CrunchieBite Guest

    Well installed it and I am still able to get online...it also upgraded my firewall module to 1045 from 1044.

    ~M
     
  3. CrunchieBite

    CrunchieBite Guest

    Spoke to soon....it just downloaded the latest defs and rolled the firewall module back to 1040!!!!?!?!?!

    ~M :blink:
     
  4. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany

    LOL

    Ridiculous !

    What to hell are they doing o_O!!!
     
  5. The PIT

    The PIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Didn't do it here.
     
  6. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    1045 here, after updates?
     
  7. CrunchieBite

    CrunchieBite Guest

    I feel like a fricking yo-yo!

    I had v4.0.314 with test mode disabled and firewall module 1044.
    I installed v4.0.417 over the top and rebooted - now had firewall module 1045 with defs that were a few days old.
    I did update virus def and got a ~24MB update with the latest defs but firewall module 1040.
    I enabled test mode and did another update virus def and got another ~24MB update with the latest defs but firewall module 1044.

    Think I will try re-reinstalling and see if that holds 1045 else I think I will just stick my head in a blender and end the pain!

    ~M
     
  8. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    Not importend.

    1045 is already reported as NOT working too !
     
  9. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany

    ESET .. can you see what you are doing o_O
     
  10. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    Either no they can't or they are not interested !!!!!!!!!!!!]
     
  11. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    working a treat here! didn't have a problems with the previous either, behind a nat router.
     
  12. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Hello, I've never had internet problems and I'll lay out my situation:

    v4.0.314.0 with firewall 1044 since v4 release, no problems.
    Download and install v4.0.417.0 and install over, telling it to reboot after install.
    Reboot.
    Run update, firewall module 1045 is downloaded with latest defs.
    Reboot.


    Still no problems, never used test mode, off, forever.
     
  13. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

  14. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    I'll believe that when I see it! :D
     
  15. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
  16. CrunchieBite

    CrunchieBite Guest

    Ok, I finally got my ESS to behave but, it wasn't exactly a simple task. For the benefit of anyone else who finds themself in the same situation I was in, I did the following:

    Repaired v4.0.417 using the Repair option on the installer - had absolutely no effect on the version of the firewall module.

    Uninstalled v4.0.417 and rebooted and then deleted all the left over folders in Program Files, Program Data, User Profile etc and the leftover registry keys in HKLM and HKCU. Rebooted again and then installed v4.0.417.

    I now have v4.0.417 with firewall module 1045 and the firewall module doesn't revert to an older version on an update anymore!!!!

    NOTE: I'm not sure if this makes any odds but, I am running on Vista SP-1 X64 with the 64Bit version of ESS!

    On that note, I am now going to put the blender away :)

    ~M
     
  17. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    If that is the case

    I wonder whatever happened to "works out of the box"
     
  18. LoPhatPhuud

    LoPhatPhuud Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Updated ESS 4.0.314 to 4.0.417 (Business Edition) in place. Rebooted, updated definitions, rebooted.

    Firewall module was 1045 after install, after 1st reboot and after 2nd reboot.

    Computer: Acer laptop, Windows XP SP3, fully patched.

    I am planning to install on my Vista Desktop in the morning.
     
  19. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    You need to setup your username/password during installation (do NOT tick set parameters later). Works as a charm.

    Also, use default server settings for update (choose automatically) instead of setting them manually, as this seem to cause such problems.

    I have already written about this procedure, had exactly the same issues as you described: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=236335

    Cheers,
    Miki
     
  20. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Still issues due to WEB and HTTP Scanner (nothing in notes also).

    Will not load FW after importing my settings.

    Updates (Not Test Mode) and a 25MB file later the FW is now older 1040 not 1045 or even 1043.

    I ain't too happy, this is the 3rd reinstall of this new build.

    1st reboot after update makes FW older caused a major delay until ESET loads then it kills my NIC and I get a BSOD (same on 3 reinstalls).

    2nd Reboot, NIC is working FW seems to work and not error MSG when I browse its settings but I'm no further forward hink I need go back to v3.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2009
  21. LoPhatPhuud

    LoPhatPhuud Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Had the the time to update my Vista desktop this afternoon.

    ESS 4.0.314 to 4.0.417 (Business Edition) in place update.

    Rebooted after install, updated data files, rebooted again.

    Firewall module was 1045 after install, after first reboot and after second reboot.

    OS is Vista Ultimate SP1, fully patched.


    That makes 2 for 2. Both my laptop and this desktop updated in place to 4.0.417 (BE) without issue.

    I will watch for the next few days and report if any issues with module versions.
     
  22. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Going to see if it still messes with Window Mail as I finally messed about and got FW working after import then update though older modules are now installed.

    Edit, No issue so far in Windows Mail using its own Spam options unlike previous builds of v4.

    I need see when I get lots of mail from others not sending myself from Yahoo to ISP.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2009
  23. stevenz

    stevenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    74
    hello
    i tried installing the latest version of ess v4 on my laptop
    with vista business sp1.
    still getting a bsod.
    i can't start the laptop.
    i have to power it off, and use the repair option,
    to reinstall the os to use it.
    i uninstalled everything associated with essv3 but still no go.
    any ideas once again?
    i do not have novell either.
    thank you
    Steven
     
  24. CrunchieBite

    CrunchieBite Guest

    Affriaid neither of your points follow through with my setup when I had the problem. I already had v4.0.314 installed and it had my username & password in it and was updating using the Choose automatically option. I initially did an installation of v4.0.417 over the top selecting the use current settings option!

    Anyhow....my problem was solved as detailled in my earlier post :D Perhaps my initial install of v4.0.314 was somehow corrupt which caused the problem - I don't know but, all is good now.

    ~M
     
  25. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Edit to above.

    Now ESS updated a few times during my use and now today on a cold startup, no Internet (I had no previous FW issues before this new build).

    I rebooted PC and again it takes far too long to startup and then BSOD.

    I'm now on a 3rd reboot and it managed not to BSOD, I had turn of the FW and repair NIC and I'm now going to try update in Test
    Mode to get newer FW module.

    This is a TOTAL JOKE. :thumbd:

    EDIT :

    Got update and FW is now .44 seems pure luck on what build you get as sometimes its .43 or .45).

    PC startup is normal and fast and ESS loads soon into startup and Internet works from that point.

    I need keep testing, if this (new to me) FW issue is fixed and the Windows Mail issue seems fixed all I need do is be brave enough to turn back on Web AXX Scanning and Http scanning and see if I can actually surf the web without timeouts.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.