New Version of ZAPro and ZA Free released 24 May 2004

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by marti, May 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Words from Zone Labs:

    Today, we're launching version 5.0 of ZoneAlarm, ZoneAlarm Pro, and two new products: ZoneAlarm with Antivirus, and ZoneAlarm Security Suite! The web site is being updated now, and we should begin notifying customers through the "Check for Update" functionality very soon.

    We are going to be discontinuing ZoneAlarm Plus and ZoneAlarm Pro with Web Filtering. Of course, we're going to move those customers for free to more powerful products. You can get full details from the "Frequently Asked Questions" links from this page: http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/support/archive/archiveMain.jsp

    We aren't changing anything about the price and availability of ZoneAlarm!
     
  2. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

    Thank You Marti!!:)
     
  3. ronny

    ronny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    Belgium
    Please be careful! Don't be as 'stupid' as me :rolleyes: , i had nothing but problems since then. I am a registered ZA Pro user. I have posted my problems on the user forum and contacted Za support. Hope they solve the issues with the new update soon, because it seems i am far from the only one to have problems with it. :'(
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2004
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Rule number one: wait at least a couple of weeks before upgrading - whatever software is involved. It's very common new releases are bugged in one way or another. ZAP is no exception to the rule.

    regards.

    paul
     
  5. sig

    sig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    716
    Yes, I'm not particularly adventurous when it comes to new versions of just about any critical software (since I'm not patient should problems arise and want to "fix" things with a hammer, lol).

    In case anyone hasn't yet attempted an upgrade, I'd advise first looking at the ZA support forum and BBR's security and security product forums for ZA/P threads and reports of problems. Wait till the dust clears and ZoneLabs has addressed the most common issues people have reported. No doubt there will be further fix-it updates forthcoming. (Some people it must be said have reported no problems, but best to back up or image a system before undertaking the adventure with a new major release if one must.)

    Marti has been working overtime elsewhere as a Z Teamer providing information and liaisoning with ZL since the new release. So kudos and my sympathies to Marti at this time. ;) And may we also have a moment of silence for ZA Plus, which will no longer be developed. :'(

    ;)
     
  6. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Actually, aside from a minor memory leak. ZA 5.0 Pro seems to be working well for me. Be nice if the AV Checker recognized KAV 5.0. Couple issues with privacy and ad blocking. Nothing that qualifies as a show-stopper.
     
  7. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    On the AV monitor, here is the official statement from Zone Labs:

    INFORMATION ON ANTIVIRUS MONITORING

    GENERAL DESCRIPTION
    This feature is present in all of our version 5.0 ZoneAlarm products (ZoneAlarm, ZoneAlarm with Antivirus, ZoneAlarm Pro, and ZoneAlarm Security Suite). It's meant to be a secondary alert system to support what your antivirus vendor provides. Most antivirus products include automatic updating, and alert you when your antivirus definition files become out of date. But if your vendor hasn't sent you the latest definitions, if your antivirus product's notification feature has been disabled, or if you're not running any antivirus that we've detected (see Coverage below) then our feature provides you with a warning as a second line of defense.

    COVERAGE
    Antivirus Monitoring currently detects the most popular antivirus products: Norton Antivirus, McAfee Viruscan, and Computer Associates EZ Antivirus. If you use a different antivirus product, Antivirus Monitoring will not recognize it at this time. This does not mean that your ZoneAlarm product is malfunctioning; your security remains as strong as ever.

    We will be adding the ability to recognize more products over time. If your antivirus product is not currently supported, you may simply turn off the Antivirus Monitoring feature. Do not worry-- Antivirus Monitoring is monitoring only and has no affect on the firewall and no direct affect on security.

    MONITORING IN ZONEALARM AND ZONEALARM PRO
    In these products, you will see an Antivirus Monitoring panel. From this panel you can view the status of your antivirus product. You can also turn monitoring on or off, or you can turn on or off just the monitoring alerts.

    MONITORING IN ZONEALARM WITH ANTIVIRUS AND ZONEALARM SECURITY SUITE
    In these products, there is no Antivirus Monitoring panel because the products are equipped with Zone Labs Antivirus. When Zone Labs Antivirus is turned off, the Antivirus Monitoring feature is activated. Monitoring can be turned off from any monitoring alert, or from the Main tab of the Alerts & Logs panel, under Advanced Options. It appears as a checkbox under Antivirus Monitoring Events.
     
  8. Hatsikidee

    Hatsikidee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Netherlands
    True. But when everyone waits a couple of weeks before getting the update, no problem will ever be reported? :D
     
  9. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    :D You surely made a valid point! (trapped in my own logic here :D ).In practice, be assured many, many software users will update anyway as ever.

    regards.

    paul
     
  10. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Toronto
    Hi Paul, a case in point, I'm still using ZAP 2.6.362. It's just a firewall, nothing else, it works, it's protected by DCS Proc Guard and a bunch of other stuff. But my history with ZAP was that when 3.0.xxx came out it was very buggy. I went back to 2.6.362 and have never been inclined to change it. That's what happens when vendors decide to let the customers do the testing.
    And unfortunately, vendors that started life in a particular niche have now decided to try to add functionality that encroaches on other vendors 'turf' or add glitzy features, such as Ad Subtract. I've chosen to stay with version 2.55 which also works well and provides me with appropriate protection.

    Jim
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.