New User

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Bill from Canada, Apr 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bill from Canada

Bill from Canada Registered Member

I am new to Acronis True Image I am using AcronisTrue Image 9.0 on a system with Windows XP Home edition. I have an external 160Gb hard drive and intend to do my backups onto this drive. I also have Norton Go Back 4.0. Can some kind sole walk this newbee through to procedure I should use to back up my entire c drive onto the external drive, and also the procedure to back up just the "My Documents" folder onto the external drive. I know that this should be staight foreward but I am not a computer guru and do not want to screw things up. Thanks in advance for your patience and help. Bill.

2. Howard Kaikow

Howard Kaikow Registered Member

Print out the user's guide.
    The steps are listed.

3. Chutsman

Chutsman Registered Member

Bill, here's what I would do. After you install True Image, I would make the bootable Rescue CD.

Next, boot with the CD and choose Image backup (not Clone). In the dialog windows, be sure there is a check mark against the Source drive name (it should default to having it).

For the destination drive, choose your 160 Gig external and follow the rest of the prompts to create the backup image.

To backup your "My Documents" folder just use Windows Explorer to copy it to the external. If you want some compression use the built-in WinZip in Windows to do so.

4. mark3

mark3 Registered Member

Further to the other suggestions, I read in another thread, that a poster had difficulty creating and restoring his image because he had Norton GoBack enabled during the procedure. Apart from disabling GoBack during the procedure I would suggest that you uninstall GoBack completely. If the latter gets corrupted then the only solution is to clean install your XP.