New User without problems

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by ErikAlbert, Jun 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I'm trialing "Look 'n' Stop" in combination with router "D-Link DI-604" and I followed Blackspear's well documented instructions in the sticky post "Setup and Settings for Look ‘n’ Stop". Thanks and my compliments Blackspear.

    I like it so far and it loves my other softwares. I'm almost an ex-ZoneAlarm-Free-user. :D
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I'm planning to buy LnS, the longer I use it the more I like it.
    Sometimes I have two LnS-icons in my system tray, but that is a minor issue.
    I think it has something to do with the way of closing LnS. ZoneAlarm Free didn't have that problem.
    I followed Blackspear's recommendations. Is that enough or do I have to do something else to make LnS stronger?
     
  3. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    You see two instances of Look ‘n’ Stop running, two or more icons in the systray, you might want to check that you followed the instructions carefully regarding the Look ‘n’ Stop service utility. If you have setup the service utility, you need to manually uncheck ‘None’ for ‘Automatic start’ found in Look ‘n’ Stop Options screen.

    Also if you already have a running instance of Look ‘n’ Stop, don’t try to launch background GUI through shortcut available through Start Menu \ Programs \, use systray area for bringing up of the Look ‘n’ Stop GUI...
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    The "None" was already unchecked, the "System" was checked.

    If I use the "Minimize"-button, I don't have more than one LnS-icon.
    If I use the "Exit"-button and "No"-button in the confirmation screen, I have three LnS-icons.

    I prefer to see and use my application-icons on the desktop, it's a visual control for me to see in which FDISR-snapshot I'm working.
    But I'm trying to make a habit of it to use the system-tray-icons. :)

    ZoneAlarm Free and all my other applications don't create a double or triple icon in my system tray, when I close them.
    Why isn't that possible in LnS ? I consider this more as a wrong way of programming.
     
  5. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi

    I’ve tried to reproduce your experiences to no avail, clicking ‘No’ as response to Exit Confirmation should not do duplicate or more systray icons, this will have to be investigated .. by Fred...
     
  6. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    You are right if you open LnS via the system tray.
    If you open LnS from the desktop-shortcut, you will have a double icon.
     
  7. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    This is normal behaviour, using a Look ‘n’ Stop shortcut, doesn’t matter where it is located and if you use it it’ll launch another Look ‘n’ Stop instance and another… Other instances provide means to support additional Network Adapters.

    Use Systray Icon Always :)
     
  8. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Well, I was wrong. When you open LnS via a desktop-icon and you close it with the minimize-button, it also creates a double LnS-icon. I didn't see it because winXPproSP2 hides most of its icons in the system tray, when they aren't active.
    I will follow your advice and use the system-tray-icon.
    I better learn the good habits, than the bad habits, because I belong to the good guys. :)
     
  9. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Erik,

    I'm curious....if you click on the X to "close" the GUI once you've opened it via the desktop icon......does it simply close the GUI, or does it exit the program altogether (like I believe it does if you click X after you've opened the interface via the system tray icon)?
     
  10. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    If you open LnS via desktop, it always creates an extra LnS-icon in the system tray. So if you click X and confirm it with "Yes" it will remove the second LnS-icon from the system tray, but your first LnS-icon is still there.
    If you click "No" as confirmation, the second LnS-icon remains on the system tray and that is of course very confusing.
    I really don't like this but I can live with it.

    I keep my desktop-icon anyway, but pure as an informative icon, because I like to see (and remember) in
    which FDISR-snapshot I'm working.
    The system tray hides itself too much and doesn't have the same visual result as the desktop. :)
     
  11. sick0

    sick0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Posts:
    143
    what version are you using?

    did you install the service utility? if you did, you have to check "none" in the automatic start option...
     
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi ErikAlbert

    It isn’t difficult if you can remember that clicking on shortcuts performs an execution, and if you can remember that Look ‘n’ Stop is one of those programs that don’t use prevention method to ensure that only one instance of the program runs in background.

    “-Phant0m_[POST NO. 3]: Also if you already have a running instance of Look ‘n’ Stop, don’t try to launch background GUI through shortcut available through Start Menu \ Programs \, use systray area for bringing up of the Look ‘n’ Stop GUI...”

    Here I tried to explain about shortcut execution, I was specific and mentioned exactly the shortcut in Start \ Programs \, didn’t say shortcut in general because by default (I had thought) Look ‘n’ Stop Installer don’t place desktop shortcut…

    Look ‘n’ Stop application should always be loaded with Windows, clicking shortcut does execution, Look ‘n’ Stop doesn’t provide prevention means to have only one instance of Look ‘n’ Stop in the background. Look ‘n’ Stop was designed to permit the user to have several instances of Look ‘n’ Stop in the background to cover many Network Adapters. Now if you familiar with ConSeal PC Firewall, and many other firewalls they cover several Network Adapters through the one / main instance (the way I like and have long ago requested Look ‘n’ Stop to be like also).

    If you have three instances of Look ‘n’ Stop you’ll see if look closely to the applications titlebars, ‘Look ‘n’ Stop’, ‘Look ‘n’ Stop #1’, ‘Look ‘n’ Stop #2’, ‘Look ‘n’ Stop #3’…
     
  13. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Phantom,
    Don't you worry about it. I'm just not used to multiple icons of the same application. That's all. It won't stop me from buying LnS. :)
     
  14. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I trialed LnS a few years back and really like it. Unfortunately, if i recall correctly, i had a driver issue(wouldn't load) and couldn't figure out how to remedy it....

    Anyway, u made a good choice i'm sure Eric. :)



    snowbound
     
  15. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Thanks snowbound.
    The main reason why I choosed LnS was its combination of "Application Filtering" and "Internet Filtering",
    Application Filtering is something I already learned from ZoneAlarm Free and this is a part, I already understand.
    Internet Filtering is new to me and that's good, because I will learn how to create rules or at least get an idea how rules are created.
    So LnS isn't completely new to me, it has a part I already understand and I will see how far I'm able to understand rules.
    I see LnS more as a bridge to rule-based firewalls and it will keep me busy for the next years. So it's certainly not a waste of money.
    If I stick to ZoneAlarm Free, I will never learn anything about rules. :)
     
  16. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Hi,

    If I enable all this options is it OK ?

    LnS.JPG


    An argumented answer will be much appreciated !
     
  17. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Phant0m,

    Regarding the above from your post that I've quoted and highlighted: I completely agree. That would definitely be a nice (and welcomed) addition.

    I'm glad that you've recommended this to Frederic. Perhaps this thread will serve as a useful reminder to it's importance and/or relevance, and maybe Frederic will incorporate this idea into a future release.

    Ahhh.....that makes sense. Like Phant0m said, I didn't think that a desktop icon was created by default, but since you've explained your reasoning for wanting the desktop icon (First Defense-ISR), I understand and agree. Hopefully Phant0m's suggestion of providing prevention means to have only one instance of Look ‘n’ Stop in the background will be incorporated in a future release.....
     
  18. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    check ugly's attachment and my response below.
    yes those settings are fine.

    some things to keep in mind:

    1. some people claim the enabling SPI causes problems with p2p
    2. enabling Thread injection causes a BSOD on computer with NX-bit enabled procs like the Athlon 64. there is a beta driver that makes it work tho.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2006
  19. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    ugly and WSFuser,
    I had visual contact with these settings and changed them using ugly's screenshot. Thanks for the additional info.

    P.S.: Meanwhile, I became a licensed LnS-user for €39.93 :cool:
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2006
  20. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Thank you for your answer.
    If I'll experience any problems with them I'll post here for help.
     
  21. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    One more question.
    Should I enable " Anti-Flood" o_O?
    What is it for ?o_O
     
  22. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Anti-Flood will temporaily pause the log if a certain threshold of entries are created.

    I dont know any pros/cons of enabling it tho. i just keep it disabled.
     
  23. Pete99

    Pete99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    U.S.
    I believe that you should disable "Watch DNS Calls" in the GUI options if you've enabled all of the beta features in the Registry.
     
  24. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    What would be the reasoning for this, Pete? And how about if you're behind a dual hardware firewall/router?
     
  25. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    some of teh features activated with the registry entry negate the need to use "Watch DNS calls". if ur wondering which entry, its the "CheckDNSQ" flag
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.