New User - What Happened?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Ed_H, Aug 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I have been using FD-ISR for a few weeks and have booted into several snapshots without problem. Today, I installed some software that did not play well at all with my system so I thought I would just boot to another snapshot to fix the problem. Previously I had always used F1 during the boot process to select the snapshot but this time I pressed Actions, Boot To Snapshot and selected the snapshot. But, when it re-booted, it just froze at the FS-ISR screen and gave me no options to choose ANY snapshot. Turning off the power button and re-booting gave me the same problem. Luckily I had an ATI image to restore and all is well.

    I need to know what happened. Either I did something wrong or my faith in FD-ISR is severely shaken. Any ideas?
     
  2. crash79`

    crash79` Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    Isle of Bute Scotland
    If you want to play about with software get Deep Freeze
     
  3. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    Hard to say what happend, based on the info you have given, though I probably still won't know ;) others coming after may want to know what the software was. Did you try booting into safe mode?
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Each software has its enemies, so does FDISR. I also installed new softwares that corrupted FDISR and I also had to restore an image to fix it.
    That is NORMAL. There are so many softwares in the world, written by different people and each of these softwares has bugs.
    It's a miracle that most of these softwares work together on the same computer.
    That was not a valid reason for me to ditch FDISR or to shake my confidence in FDISR.
    If a software doesn't like FDISR, I ditch it without hesitation and I restore an image to fix it.
    All softwares suck, but some softwares suck more than others. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2007
  5. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country

    FD-ISR is a great program for making snap shots BUT it is no substitute for an Image. Looks like the software that did not play well messed up FD-ISR and Acronis came to the rescue - nothing wrong with FD-ISR .

    DeepFreeze has already been mentioned. you might also want to consider using Returnil (free to home users). In the situation you describe a reboot would have sorted things out. Deepfreeze and Returnil are, in my opinion, better the the freeze option in FD-ISR ( too slow and takes up disk space)
     
  6. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    To circumvent the guessing game,post your logs to support,they will sort these complicated stuff.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.