New User Needs Install Help

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by RobertMacy, May 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RobertMacy

    RobertMacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I am installing True Image Home 10.
    Do I install it over True Image 8 or remove it first?
    I want to also install the Bootable Rescue Media Builder but I don't want to make a custom installation. How do I do this? Is the "complete" installation as complex as the custom installation or as easy as the "typical" installation? Thanks for any help.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Most TI users recommend uninstalled the previous version before installing a later version. It just seems to work better that way. Acronis Support says that updating/upgrading is fine and you don't need to uninstall prior versions/builds. Take your pick.

    I would recommend using the "complete" option as this installs everything you need. It is just as easy as the "typical" as it just steps through the wizard.
     
  3. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I agree with Mudcrab but make sure you have your TI8 serial number available if you are installing an upgrade version.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello RobertMacy,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that starting with the builds 3xxx of Acronis True Image is based on the new "engine". Therefore, if you have a previous build/version of Acronis True Image (for example, Acronis True Image 8.0) installed, the best way to proceed with upgrading is:

    - completely uninstall Acronis True Image from your system and reboot the computer;

    - carry out a clean installation of the latest build (4942) of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home.

    To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    In addition, would like to mention that the installation of the newer builds (higher than 3567) of Acronis True Image can be performed over the previous one (over builds 3xxx, without need to uninstall).

    As for type of installation, the 'Typical' installation includes Acronis True Image itself and Acronis Bootable Rescue Media Builder. The 'Complete' installation includes these two components plus Acronis True Image plug-in for BartPE. The 'Custom' installation allows you to install the above mentioned components selectively and allows to choose where to install the product. I would recommend that you find the detailed instructions on how to install Acronis True Image 10.0 Home in chapter 2. "Acronis True Image Home installation and startup" in the Acronis True Image 10.0 Home User's Guide.

    We also recommend you to create a new Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue Media after installing a new build/version, because each new build brings such improvements as better hardware support etc.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Isn't the diff between typical and complete just the BARTPe stuff? If you aren't going to build a BART disk, not much point is installing those files.

     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Yes, I think that is the only difference. However, the BartPE folder only takes about 32.5MB of space. And, since most people don't now if they're going to be making a BartPE cd until later, they won't have to reinstall to get. That's assuming they use TI's BartPE plugin and not mustang's.

    I ususally install all programs as custom if they offer that choice so I have complete control over where it goes and I know what's getting installed. So many programs these day want to add IE toolbars or other "fluff" that I just don't need or use.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.