New user having problems with bootable media

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by memnoch, Feb 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. memnoch

    memnoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Hi all,

    I have recently downloaded a trial of Workstation 9.1 and can only get the bootable media to work in Safe mode. In full it crashes every single time on one of my machines. On the others it seems to work okay. I have tried the "acpi=off noapic" trick and that doesn't seem to make any difference. The last two lines when it fails are:

    /bin/insmod piix
    /lib/modules/piix.o

    I have ran some Google searches and it appears to be drive controller related. I want to be able to drop the backups on to a USB drive but that won't work by the looks of it.

    System spec:
    Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800
    MSI 975X Platinum Powerup Edition
    2GB Corsair Dominator XMS2 PC2 6400 CAS 3439
    2 x 150GB WD Raptor X RAID 0
    1 x WDC WD800 80GB

    Kind regards,

    Howard
     
  2. memnoch

    memnoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    I'm guessing that the easy way to do it would be to build a BartPE disk and add the plugin. I'm guessing that quite a few users here use that method?
     
  3. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    BartPE is highly recommended see the sticky thread for links https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=29880.
     
  4. memnoch

    memnoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    I found the culprit in the end. It was the JMicron® JMB361 controller. With this disabled in the BIOS it works perfectly. The module piix.o appears to try and load but fails.
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I understand that that particular controller is a headache for a number of folks, including ones not using ATI.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.