New Sandboxie version out today

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by stapp, Jul 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,293
    Location:
    England
  2. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
  3. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Thanks for the heads up ;)
     
  4. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,188
    Installed.
    Now also webcam works with sandboxed Skype and Yahoo messenger.
     
  5. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
  6. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Well I cant say much for this thing except :gack: I downloaded it/ I installed it, soon as I tried to access the Sandboxie control BANG!:eek: Blue Screen :mad: not once but everytime my computer started up. Needless to say I threw the Crap Out! :cautious:
     
  7. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    The problem is Vista, not SB.
    Mrk
     
  8. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Vista, or changes made so it will run on Vista. Got BSODs here on XP 64 as well. The previous vers. ran\runs without a hitch.
     
  9. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    Bluescreened for me on x64 a couple times as well.
     
  10. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Vista Ultimate and XP Pro drives with Sandboxie running fine here.

    Also updated several other machines to ver3 without a prob.

    Quote from Sandboxie Download site
     
  11. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Did you uninstall or did it fix itself? o_O I normally use a USB keyboard. As they are not supported in safe mode I had to pull out a PS2 one to get into safe mode and uninstall it. :p I am back to v2.86 for the time being. :thumb:
     
  12. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    @ Franklin In my case I am running XP64. Did the install as an upgrade. Perhaps I should have done a clean install. Visited their Forum last night. As of that time one other member had reported the problem. Normally I stand pat for a while to let someone else work out the kinks of a new vers. Guess this will teach me. :oops:
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2007
  13. Gren

    Gren Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    93
    The previous version runs on my Vista setup so if it's down to this combo then it must be the new 'impovements' to Vista stability that they added.

    So to answer the earlier post it may not be down to Vista rather than Sandboxie!
     
  14. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    May be a hardware driver issue also, or a conflict with another app. I did not do much investigating into the error code. One strange occurrence I did notice was the quick flash of a liter blue screen with larger white print referencing the "NTOSKRNL". Was not able to read the whole message. That sounds like an OS conflict....at least in my case.
     
  15. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Yes I did note that you are running XP 64 bit and just highlighted the Vista 64bit article in case some may have missed it.

    Was this The Topic you were refering to?

    If some are experiencing probs maybe you could come over to SB's forum and post about it.

    No need to register, I think?

    You can only help make a great app even better!;)

    Sandboxie Forum
     
  16. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Was just trying to keep things straight on OS`s being talked about. Following threads can sometimes be confusing. :rolleyes: ;)

    That is the thread.

    You are correct, no need to register. But I am already a member. I will have to check into the updated installer.

    :thumb: Franklin
     
  17. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    Anybody having problems, should report them on the sandboxie forum. Just posting here is probably a waste of time.
     
  18. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Just did. :D
     
  19. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    I uninstalled. I only use x64 as a backup system and for testing.


    My USB keyboard works fine in Safe mode. o_O
     
  20. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    This one does`t. :doubt:
     
  21. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I downloaded Sandboxie 3.0 last night, hadn't had a chance to install it yet.
    My blueTooth USB keyboard works fine in safe mode and I have a old PS/2 keyboard just in case.
     
  22. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    Interesting experience, running the latest version of sandboxie, I just downloaded a file, and there is no sign of it, sandboxie says there are no files to recover, it didn't escape to the target folder.o_O
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    I am running both .17 and .16 fine here.
     
  24. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    Found the file by searching through sandboxie folders, not the normal route, but rather by using explorer and trekking through Application data etc to the appropriate sandboxie folder. Sandboxie still claimed there was nothing to recover.
     
  25. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Where have you set your browser to save downloaded files.

    I know if I set FF's "save files to.." a folder on another partition they don't show up as recoverable from within SB but no prob if they are saved to desktop.

    These three ini lines within SB may control when a file is shown as recoverable but I'm not really sure.

    You could come over to SB's forum and ask "da man"
    Edit: found this in SB's FAQ's:
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2007
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.