New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.545)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zfactor, May 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    Hi,

    it's my pleasure to announce the general availability of a new avast program update, version number 5.0.545.

    Most notable improvements include:
    • Solved a bug related to submission of false positives
    • Improvements in the Behavior Shield (realtime antirootkit part)
    • Sandbox: many functional, stability and performance improvements
    • Firewall: VPN compatibility fixes (should now work even in Public zone etc)
    • Firewall: solved an issue related to hang and/or crash of the afwServ.exe process
    • Finally works with major screen readers (avast is now blind-friendly)
    • Compatibility improvements in the Web Shield
    • Various fixes in the Outlook antispam add-in
    • Improved detection of droppers
    • Setup program of the Pro AV now also accepts v4.x license keys
    • Right-to-left support
    • Added Croatian and Arabic language packs


    Thank you
    Vlk

    http://www.avast.com/security-software-home-office
     
  2. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Zfactor, Thanks for the heads up. Upgrade complete, no problems. :D
     
  3. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Two computers upgraded with no problems. :)
     
  4. Gen

    Gen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Updated on my Vista laptop, all good no problems detected.
     
  5. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    the upgrader popped up in the free version on xp pro sp3 and I did it with no problems. It asked for a reboot -again no problems
    robin
     
  6. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Well, I have problem with sending email with this version... For now, I had to disable the outbound protection for email!?!?!
     
  7. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,736
    Just changed from Eset to Avast5 Pro (demo) while experiencing some minor
    trouble on Win7. Runs smooth, human interface is clearly arranged and easy
    to handle. Performance test here is outstanding.
    too bad i havent found out yet how to export/import/save/restore settings.
     
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Upgraded to v5.0.545 on 2 machines without any trouble.
    Required two reboots on one machine because I was busy answering OA questions about trusting and allowing and remembering... and I must have taken too long. A quick reboot put Humpty back together again. :)
     
  9. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I had OA Free on my laptop. All went well, but a couple of hours later I returned to find the system tied up because OA questioned the new version. I had to reboot, and then I could not find how to make it trusted so I don't have to go through the same when a new one comes out.

    I had no problems with the upgrade with PC Tools Firewall Plus.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  10. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Just wondering, did you try putting OA into learning mode and rebooting? That usually does it for me. I leave it there for 10-15 minutes and all usually goes smooth as butter. Note I said "usually"...:eek: :rolleyes: :D
     
  11. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Yes, I had avast trusted but still got the prompts from OA, which I don't mind, and tend to expect. It would be nice if trusting avast included new versions, but I guess it doesn't work that way... unless you deactivate the HIPS features on OA. :)
    Note: I just saw Mongol's suggestion about Learning Mode. Looks like a good one!
     
  12. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi Mongol,
    No, but I am going to put it in the learning mode for a day or so and see how all goes.
    I guess I should have done it before the upgrade.

    I really like Avast, and want to fine a top notch FW to go with it. I don't mind paying for the FW, but don't want to have to be a geek to run it. I found PC Tools ran well, but the latest Matousec test indicated the PCT firewall was not so good.
    I am behind a router with a NAT.

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  13. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    Just a thought, what happens if you save and use the ini files under C:\ProgramData\Alwil Software\avast5\

     
  14. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    FYI - I run Outpost Pro FW with my Avast with no learning mode drama.
     
  15. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I went into user settings and saved the .ini files.

    To transfer my settings to the kids' PCs go into troubleshooting and turn-off avast self-protection. Copy and paste.

    All PCs now have the same config.

    Ian
     
  16. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    HIPS can be a pain in the you know what at times. Have you tried Look N Stop? A terrific pure firewall and with the extended rules set it provides pretty bullet proof protection. I know it bomb's Matousec's tests but thats because of the lack of HIPS and iffy leak patches. It's a ONE TIME license purchase and I've used it for years...just a thought, see how OA does for now. Thats all I'll say about this - we've strayed off topic :eek: :gack: - cheers...:D
     
  17. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi Mongol,
    Yes, I also have a license for LnS. I used it before I started using suites. I did note that it did not do well in Matousec's tests. I seem to remember that PC Tools is similar, except PC Tools has HIPS.
    It always ran well for me.
    PC Tools is running well on my desktop, but I was bothered by its poor showing in the latest Matousec test.

    I admit that I do not understand firewalls. I am not sure why one needs HIPS in a firewall, but if so then those like LnS must be lacking in what a firewall is supposed to do.
    Thanks.

    Regards,
    Jerry

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  18. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Firewalls with HIPS aside this latest release of Avast has the same problem previous releases had. It's running just great...:thumb: :cool:
     
  19. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,736
    hey you both, thanx for the tip.
    my first install was into sandboxie to have first look.

    maybe i can use the whole folder for a copy - only 1.3megs.
    :thumb:
     
  20. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Install went smooth here.
    I was a little concerned about the new version effecting Outlook Express e-mail, but that hasn't been a problem for me.:thumb:
     
  21. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Matousec has his detractors. Though I don't know enough about firewalls to say one way or another about how firewalls should work.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.