New Problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bubblehdsts, Sep 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bubblehdsts

    bubblehdsts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I'm using True Image 8.0 and prefer the boot fom Cd option.
    When I boot from CD (on my new laptop) the machine reboots as soon as I make a menu selection?
    I have never seen this before.
    I DO NOT WANT TO INSTALL THE SOFTWARE ON THE DRIVE. THE BOOT CD
    option is the best method for me.
    Any suggestions ?
    The laptop is a new Dell D620.

    Regards,
    bubblehdsts
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    New hardware often calls for new software, especially with notebook computers which have more proprietary features. It may be time to upgrade to TI 9 Home.

    You can try it with the downloadable Trial version.
     
  3. bubblehdsts

    bubblehdsts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks John,
    But I get the same canned reponse from acronis support. If my my problem is some kind of bug ...that is fixed by the newest release...I'm happy to purchase it. I've found that the new laptop has a SATA drive........is that an issue.
    If I download the newest release, from the website....can I burn it to CD and boot straight to TI utility WITHOUT installing. TI 8 allows you bypass windows
    and boot to TI.....does the newest release work the same way?

    Sorry for venting....This is GREAT software....I'd like to keep using it.

    Steve
     
  4. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Hi bubblehdsts,

    I'm afraid you shall have to install the downloaded trial TI9 to be able to create the Rescue CD that will then allow booting from it bypassing Windows. Moreover, a Rescue CD made from a trial version has the Backup function disabled (since it can't be made to expire as the Windows version does). Therefore, you won't be able to fully test the "Rescue CD only" solution you prefer.
     
  5. Quench

    Quench Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Motheboard Asrock 775dual-vsta, chipset VIA, sata no raid

    ti8 or ti 9 the recovery cd
    black screen witht eh acronis logo in the upper left corner

    How to get rid of a problem?
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    SATA drives are exactly the sort of new hardware I was referring to. TI 8 didn't know much about SATA, but TI 9 does.

    You will have to install the trial version to make the Recovery CD. However, you could install it on a different computer and still use the Recovery CD on your new notebook. The Recovery CD is independent of the machine it is created on.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello bubblehdsts,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Please note that the reason for this issue might be a corrupted Acronis True Image Bootable CD disc. Therefore, we would recommend that you create a new Acronis True Image Bootable CD using the latest build (937) of Acronis True Image 8.0. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    Also as bVolk mentioned you will need to install the program to create the bootable CD. If it is possible you could temporarily install Acronis True Image on another computer and creating the Acronis True Image Bootable CD, then uninstall Acronis True Image and use the created bootable CD to back up and restore the first computer.

    Yes, using bootable CD created with Acronis True Image 9.0 Home you will be able to boot into standalone version of the program without booting into Windows operating system.

    Please note that you can download the free trial version of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home from Acronis web site to see how the software works on your computer.

    Please note that as jmk94903 said Acronis True Image 9.0 Home Bootable Rescue Media provides such improvements as better hardware support. You can also find the list of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home new features here.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2006
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Quench,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    First of all, please make sure that Acronis True Image 9.0 Home Bootable CD is created with the latest build (3677). To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    If it is not the case and you already use bootable CD created with the latest build then try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue still persists, please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Provide the exact model and vendor of hard drive you use. Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.