New PC Doctor - KINGSOFT Security Releases Kingsoft PC Doctor 2.7

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by KingsoftSecurity, Jul 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,973
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    One month ago I have posted
    I don't know "why" but in newest version it's still the same. I like KPCD...but this bug is "a little bit stupid" :doubt:
     
  2. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    266
    Location:
    Greece
    If u have 2 processes with the same name with the results one safe and one with unknown a clean installl should fix this.
    KPSD processes flagged us unknown has fixed a lot time ago.
    Safe.jpg
     
  3. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,973
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    I have latest version of KPCD and cloud engine is connected...an I'm not wrong...in may lap is still the same as I wrote. After enabling both panels I can see that all processes are checked - processes of KPCD always are checked at the beginning and always are "unknown". On the screens you can't see process "perfopt.exe" but it's also "unknown"
    111011130607_3.jpg
    111011130112_2.jpg
     
  4. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    266
    Location:
    Greece
    Ur local lib is outdated. Plz leave the program open at least 1 hour to update its local lib and try again.
    local lib.jpg
     
  5. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Just turn it off by default and allow up to add it from the settings so those who do not want a right click scan ability can add it. I don't have no many items in my menu so it won't be that bad for me personally so that's why I suggested it.
     
  6. KingsoftSecurity

    KingsoftSecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Posts:
    230
    When KPCD newly installed, the local database just contains some system components. That because system components are all the same, but KPCD files are changing in the new release, cause it has to be identified after results received from cloud.

    We'll try to add them in local database which will be inside installation package to avoid this problem.
     
  7. KingsoftSecurity

    KingsoftSecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Posts:
    230
    Yes, you're right, this could be added in future.
     
  8. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,973
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Thanks boombastik and KingsoftSecurity...your explanations resolve my doubts :)
     
  9. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    +2 :thumb:
     
  10. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Disabled Malwarebytes real-time for this. Really liking the included lightweight HIPS and low FPs.
     
  11. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    266
    Location:
    Greece
    Yes lightweight hips which also newbies can understand. If the action is good then kingsoft prompts in a green window, if the action is bad kingsoft promts in a yellow or a red window. Simply excited. (also if it is green, informs u how many users allow it).
     
  12. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772

    I normally don't like HIPS, or HIPS like prompts. But it is decent with PCDoc. And it seems most of the prompts it gives you the option to not get them anymore.

    I like this program a lot, though I think I would probably prefer their Cloud AV stand alone, if they ever started offering that in English again. It barely uses any CPU/Disk, and ram is very reasonable at about 10-15meg.
     
  13. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
  14. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    266
    Location:
    Greece
    Part 2 : -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tgs93Jg7wcs&feature=BFa&list=ULY87upEvkLjg&lf=mfu_in_order
    Part 3 : -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX4Fcct3EBo&feature=BFa&list=ULTgs93Jg7wcs&lf=mfu_in_order
    Part 4 : -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwngY0NwaJE&feature=BFa&list=ULWX4Fcct3EBo&lf=mfu_in_order



    In part 1,2,3 when he downloaded malware from the web, kingsoft blocked near everything. In part 4 it blocks 50% of the malware on demand.
    I think it goes very well and its light hips also work (for examble boot entry modified risky-yellow). Nice and it is a new product.
     
  15. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772

    I am not sure I am convinced all those files were malware (of the 50% not detected). Still, not a great detection rate on those, but it seemed to catch more as he ran them. Overall the program did pretty well.
     
  16. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    266
    Location:
    Greece
    +1
    Thnx clocks for finding and sharing this test.
     
  17. Aeolis

    Aeolis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Posts:
    60
    Hello folks,

    Kingsoft PC Doctor is very good. I would like to suggest that Kingsoft include a multi-language option inside the software.

    I would like to use it in English because the Portuguese translation is not very good. I would like also to volunteer to translate it into Brazilian Portuguese.

    I would like to suggest also that Kingsoft keep its folders inside KPD folder and do not spread them over the system.

    Best regards,

    Aeolis
     
  18. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    I didn't stumble apon it. I was the requester. The program was doing very well in my own tests, and I wanted to get some others testing it to verify my results.
     
  19. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    Actually, the English version needs work. Every once in a while I see Chinese & Spanish mixed in with the English. They really need to work on their translations. I have mentioned that to them on their forums.
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
  21. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    In fact the Plugins Scanner and System Repair scanner are still buggy. Takes a lot of time to complete the scan.
     
  22. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    Not really.It works fine for me.Plugins scanner takes about 7-10 seconds to complete here.
     
  23. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    o_O what's the problem with me...:ouch:
     
  24. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    KPCD is a nice product. What I don't like are the system optimizing/tweaking features and tools because I had awful experiences with system maintenance utilities like TuneUp, Advanced System Optimizer, Advanced System Care, etc. Instead of optimizing, these software just make things worse or complicated. In other words, they trash your PC.

    I suggest you take all of these out, and leave the HIPS, real-time web protection, anti-trojan and other anti-malware tools to make it "anti-malware centric".

    Hope this will be noted by the developers for KPCD 3.
     
  25. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    No idea.

    +100
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.