New Outpost version is available (6.5.2509.366.0663)

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by mack_guy911, Dec 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  2. Minimax2000

    Minimax2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Changelog:

    Outpost Security Suite Pro 2009 (6.5.2509.366.0663)
    Release date: 25 december 2008
    The following improvements are introduced:

    * Security and Control:
    o Heuristic malware scan of startup entries in On-Demand Scanner;
    o Support for greater number of packers and archivers;
    o Attempts to get direct access to disk and attempts to terminate processes are now controlled by Anti-Leak Control;
    o Warning on termination of critical system processes;
    o Block All mode allows local traffic;
    o Improved ICMP settings (now include ICMPv6).

    * Performance and Ease of Use:
    o Quick signature detection algorithm;
    o Improved SmartScan technology performance;
    o Improved Rules Wizard prompts:
    + Ability to add address to IP Blockpost list;
    + Ability to terminate process;
    + Ability to apply presets in the Anti-Leak prompt dialog;
    o Ability to select components to install;
    o Automatic configuration of LAN settings for Internet Connection Sharing;
    o Ability to clear all logs from UI;
    o System tray icon animation during update;
    o Updates and scheduled scans disabled in Entertainment mode.

    The following issues are resolved (only significant ones are listed):

    * Anti-Spam whitelist rules didn't work;
    * Logs couldn't be displayed when UAC is activated on Windows Vista x86, more minor log problems;
    * Sending and receiving of e-mails could be blocked;
    * Internet could be blocked on sending large attachments;
    * Anti-Leak prompt dialog could freeze under certain conditions (Punto Switcher);
    * Several most commonly reported crashes of UI and service, including:
    o Possible crash on first system restart ("Error: 157");
    o Possible crash while scrolling through the Host Protection components list;
    o Possible crash on collecting SmartScan data during installation on x64 platforms;
    o Possible crash on content filtering;
    * Could not finish anti-spam training with enabled UAC;
    * System tray shortcut menu and main window could not be open if Aston shell is used;
    * Possible freeze during malware scan;
    * Anti-Malware component could not sometimes detect malware on remote disks;
    * Files were not cured during scanning remote folders;
    * Empty records in the Mail Events log after e-mail filtering;
    * After selecting Block and Terminate action, repeated connection requests were displayed for terminated application;
    * ICMP traffic was allowed without any requests;
    * Remote folders could not be opened in the Select Files and Folders dialog of On-Demand Malware Scanner (request for connection credentials was displayed);
    * op_mon.exe file was detected as suspicious;
    * Malware exclusions did not work on Windows Vista/Longhorn;
    * Issues when quarantining multiple files;
    * SmartScan cache was not reset after update;
    * More minor and interface issue
     
  3. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    hi Minimax2000

    thanks for Changelog:
    Outpost Security Suite Pro 2009 (6.5.2509.366.0663)
    Release date: 25 december 2008

    can you also provide Changelog:

    Outpost firewall Pro 2009
    Version: 2009 (6.5.2509.366.0663)
    Release date: December 25, 2008
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 25, 2008
  4. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    A link to the History of Changes for Outpost Firewall Pro 2009 (6.5.2509.366.0663)
    provided :)
     
  5. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,132
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    mack_guy911, thanks for the heads up
     
  6. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    I see its not been pushed into the auto-update yet, probably do it in a day or two.
     
  7. MeFer

    MeFer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    89
    Tested on comodo CLT again and now;

    320/340

    Vurnerable:
    RootkitInstallation:ChangDrvPath
    Injection:AdvancedProcessTermination
     
  8. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    I see that even when I run Manual Update in OSS, the new version is not pushed out !!
    Does OSS update download program updates too ?
     
  9. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    hello all

    thanks for your replay wat0114


    MeFer Did you tested in usermode ....tested opf or oss and on which os xp or vistao_O

    vijayind no you have to
    1. Download the new version from given link below
    2.Uninstall old version
    3.than install the new one :)

    here is the link
    http://www.agnitum.com/products/security-suite/download.php
     
  10. MeFer

    MeFer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    89
    Tested opf on XP SP3 and no usermode.

    I installed new version over old, no problem.
     
  11. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Well that stinks !! :mad:
    Atleast OSS should show a popup message telling me to download & install manually the program update... Plus the installer, won't auto-upgrade :eek:
    I gotta uninstall & reinstall :cautious:

    I can't think of any other prominent rival product that would do the same.

    Thanks,mack_guy911 I'll manually install the upgrade. Hopefully someone from Agnitum is watching this thread and will take some positive action.
     
  12. Einsturzende

    Einsturzende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    390
    Location:
    neubauten
    Anybody tested it against Matousec "kernels" tests which old release failed?
     
  13. qpok

    qpok Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    So the problem with connection "freezes" when web control is enabled still exists (in Vista)? It's a real shame as I find the ad blocker of OSS very effective. There are numerous complaints of this issue in outpostfirewall.com forums and I, too, have reported the bug and sent debug logs to Agnitum. Seems I still have to cripple my OSS in order to effectively use it.
     
  14. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    No problems, running smooth on XP SP3 with KAV 2009.
     
  15. Shelty

    Shelty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    Seems to be running okay but I notice a lot of zero bytes in both the sent and receive column in the firewall log. Didn't notice that on the previous version. I have two XP and one Vista computer and they are all showing the same.

    Just confirmed in the Outpost forum. Hopefully, they will put an update out to fix it shortly.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2008
  16. Miyagi

    Miyagi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    420
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Quick question in regards to the Memory Usage:

    On my Vista32 laptop:

    acs.exe (67,604 K)
    op_mon.exe (22,348 K)

    Is this normal? Quite high I believe...
     
  17. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Wait it seems Agnitum update should dp program upgrades too !!
    http://www.agnitum.com/support/upgradeprotection.php

    And manual install, will auto-upgrade any previous installation.

    I just started a ticket to why, my PCs where not upgraded to latest version via Agnitum Update.
     
  18. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    For some reason, this has been a problem for a long time. The Manual upgrade procedure is still the best approach to take. If the version difference is not significant, you can usually install over-top the previous without issue, otherwise it is safest to backup your configuration, uninstall, then install latest.
     
  19. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    :blink:
    Why wouldn't Agnitum fix such an issue ??
    Ooh, well I'll wait for tech support to answer the ticket and do it manually anyway. Thanks again, wat0114.

    Is there any way to get new program upgrade notifications ? via pop-up in OSS or via mail ? Just so that I don't miss anything in the future :D
     
  20. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Hi vijayind,

    You may take a look of this thread. This explains why program update won't be downloaded to the user automatically sometimes:

    http://www.outpostfirewall.com/forum/showpost.php?p=163679&postcount=6

    That means, program update will not be pushed to the user until the new version became a stable version. This is Agnitum's practice at the moment.
     
  21. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Thanks, Chubb.:thumb:
     
  22. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    I got a reply for my ticket from Agnitum Support:

     
  23. qpok

    qpok Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Just installed the new version. Damn I miss the cozy "Allow Once" button in rule wizard dialogs. Seems I now have to choose it from the drop down menu.
     
  24. subferno

    subferno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    I may be wrong with my assumption because I was surprised by that change. But isn't clicking the button itself permitting the request once? I was scratching my head about that as well.
     
  25. stevep

    stevep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Clicking the button means Allow ALWAYS. I think their thinking is more often that not users want to set the rule once. Personally for applications I don't use frequently I prefer Allow Once. At least they didn't take the option away altogether. :)

    EDIT: My bad. Apprarently this is NOT the way it works (see the next post). Clicking the button means - o_O Well I don't know what it means but it doesn't mean Allow Always!
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2009
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.