New (Naive) User on XP Pro

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hondu, Mar 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hondu

hondu Registered Member

hi-

i have a new laptop coming with a single hard drive with a single partition. i have never used true image so that i do not know what to expect. figuring that i am a newbie to computers (windoze o.k.), where are there some simple tutorials or examples so that i have a good idea that i can back up the hard drive?!

in other words, after browsing the acronis website, this forum, reading the user's manual, etc., i am still not confident that i can install true image and back up a partition directly to a (supported) cd/rw. if you figure i have one hour to backup this disk (partition) before my wife clicks on anything that moves on the screen ... with wild abandon ... can i install true image right away, burn an image to a cd (or cds) and relax?

i am comparing true image to ghost and note that the 'radified' website was quite helpful to me per ghost 2003. darn if i can find the same for true image.

thanks.
    /gene

2. jimmytop

jimmytop Registered Member

Your wife can still use the computer while the image creation is in progress. However, I would not recommend using CD's as your back-up media, it's just not practical.

3. hondu

hondu Registered Member

So if I understand correctly, I should be able to install TI and it will recognize my CDRW (it's the Dell freebie on the Inspiron right now... or one 'em). The first backup to CDRW should be easy enough--just slow. Repartition so that I can make images more quickly in the future and I am good to go?

It's hard to know whether I should repartition first (and cross my finger that it goes well) and then image, or install TI first, image and repartition. I figure the first image would be smallish... after all, how much stuff can Dell put on to a new machine? (I hate myself for asking that question.)