new mse out

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by stratoc, Feb 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

  2. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,075
    Sorry I posted after you about this. I found out this much about the new release.

    From Microsoft Connect:
    Q. What’s new in this version of the Microsoft Security Essentials
    Ongoing Beta?

    A. This version of the Microsoft Security Essentials Ongoing Beta
    contains changes in the messaging on some of the toast/pop-up
    messages with regards to the enforcement of runtime Windows
    Activation Technology in Microsoft Security Essentials.

    Q. Will this version of Microsoft Security Essentials Ongoing Beta be
    released to directly consumers?
    A. Yes, this version of Microsoft Security Essentials Ongoing Beta
    will be released to customers in an upcoming release.
     
  3. intrepid44

    intrepid44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Posts:
    48
    Now i am confused on major geeks it says for vista and windows 7 no mention about beta so is this a beta build?
     
  4. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    I think its a beta build, I may be wrong though.
     
  5. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    181
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    It's not beta, it's the same version MS is offering from their own site for MSE. I haven't found a changelog though.
    :)
     
  6. intrepid44

    intrepid44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Posts:
    48
    yep you are correct i just uninstalled mse and reinstalled it from microsoft and this is a final version. I wonder why i didnt get the automatic update, maybe they are putting that out soon.
     
  7. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Have you spotted any changes? Is it lighter than the previous version?
     
  8. intrepid44

    intrepid44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Posts:
    48
    It is alot lighter so far on the homepage it has last scan day, date and time now. With my new computer with 8 gigs ram a quick scan takes 1 minute a full scan 5 minutes.
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    MSE started out right, but as you will see soon, their detection ability is falling. At least from what I have seen. Sorry FD.
     
  10. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949

    Where have you seen detection rates dropping? I am disappointed in how long it took them to release a new version that fixes the standby issue, I have seen many other company's release a new fix version much quicker. Plus they were kinda slow to admit that they have a conflict with Zonealarm, other than that they were doing very good.
     
  11. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Have the fixed the update issue?

    Ice
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    give it time
     
  13. starter15

    starter15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    just installed it. havnt noticed anything different from the previous build though. takes just as long to do a full scan as before.
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    I installed it on a test machine and the version said it was 1.0.1611.0, not the 1.0.1959.0 that it says on Majorgeeks. Is this really updated?
     
  15. intrepid44

    intrepid44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Posts:
    48
    Here is mine after uninstall and reinstall, i am using wqindows 7 64bit
    Microsoft Security Essentials Version: 1.0.1959.0
    Antimalware Client Version: 2.1.6519.0
    Engine Version: 1.1.5406.0
    Antivirus definitions: 1.75.889.0
    Antispyware definitions: 1.75.889.0
     
  16. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    I have about a half dozen machines being used in the field and most of those have already been infected. I wonder what is happening?:doubt:
     
  17. theblade

    theblade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Posts:
    29
    probably running as admin with AV as first/only real line of defense and doing stupid things on the computer. Load any AV you want on a computer and give me admin access for 3-4 minutes and I can infect the machine.
     
  18. hexxus

    hexxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    MSE failed to identify a new win32 trojan that avira free identified and removed quickly.
    That trojan infected a win xp and stopped the MSE service, even an a reinstall could not fix the MSE protection.
    The trojan blocked every antivirus website on firefox and IE.
     
  19. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    True. Unfortunately a couple of the programs my company uses require admin rights. It is odd but many of my users complain more about restrictions placed on their user rights than the inconvenience of cleaning rogue av's off of their computer. o_O
     
  20. xpsunny

    xpsunny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    The "Upgrade" option in MSE says that MSE is up to date, but I'm running v. 1.0.1611.0. Strange! :S
     
  21. codylucas16

    codylucas16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    267
    Honestly, you can't expect MSE to detect absolutely everything. The product is still relatively new on the block. Give it some time, and it'll improve.


    I think Microsoft needs to implement a web guard, and add better heuristics and a real behaviour guard. They also definitely need more options and customizability of their program. With this stuff it would be better than just about every product out there.
     
  22. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
  23. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    181
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    There isn't a single antivirus program that will detect everything, we all know that. There are so many new rogue antivirus programs daily it's hard to keep my clients protected. Both MSE and Avira are great, but I have both miss things that the other detected. Any antivirus program should be complimented with some types of HIPS, it's pretty much the only way to stay protected. I've been testing WinPatrol free with MSE to see how they work together, so far very light and good protection, Threatfire is a noticeable slow down. Anyway back to the topic, has anyone found a changelog yet? I have been a beta tester and the betas have "seemed" lighter, this version seems lighter as well, but no proof yet.
    :)
     
  24. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Take a look here on their Forum.
     
  25. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    It looks like Majorgeeks posted the links before they updated the files. Today it is the correct file. The one I downloaded yesterday was signed in September of last year.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.