New MSE Build 1.0.1500.0

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by midway40, Aug 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    MS released a new MSE build today but I haven't seen the changelog yet. They did however change the systray icon (the first one in the pic). You have to use the Upgrade option in the Help dropdown to get this update.
     

    Attached Files:

    • mse2.JPG
      mse2.JPG
      File size:
      9.9 KB
      Views:
      2,001
  2. Montecristo

    Montecristo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    Thanks for the update:thumb:
     
  3. Duso

    Duso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    thank you.
    i just downloaded and installed:)
     
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    so is this the first non beta release then or is it still the beta?
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
  6. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ok thx for clarifying.
     
  7. Littlemutt

    Littlemutt Guest

    The check/Upgrade option in MSE didn't find anything, but Windows Update did on my Win7 RC build 7100. MSE didn't start up after the update, had to start it manually. I didn't restart the system, as I was not prompted. It seems to be running OK, however.
     
  8. Toby75

    Toby75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Posts:
    480
    Thanks for the reminder. :thumb:
     
  9. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Any change log? I wonder if they fixed the winXP update bug.

    Ice
     
  10. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    IceCube, I have been looking around but haven't found anything much more than announcements about the new build release. In the MSE forum link Ron posted even a Mod confessed about not knowing what the changes are (and Steve is usually up to date on such things). Hopefully they will post the changelog on there soon.

    Since the XP update bug is a major one they should have fixed it with this update. Maybe someone here running XP that had this problem before can experiment with it and see if it was fixed.

    I also liked the fact that no rebooting was necessary on either of my 64 and 32 bit machines.
     
  11. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU NEW ICON!

    Wouldn't mind seeing change log though, as we all would.
     
  12. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Note, most settings stayed the same, but my MS SpyNet sub changed back to basic from advanced, and also, scheduled scan re-enabled itself.
     
  13. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Not sure if it's nice, but it's definitely better than the previous one :p
     
  14. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    A few other things:
    • Automatically kills Windows Defender when updated to the new build
    • Now properly registers as MSE not Microsoft Antimalware in the Security Center, at the same time, register as AV/AS/AM not just an AV
    • Observing an XP machine, it appears to have created a scheduled update task


     
  15. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Hey, Mid, thanks for the update, man - and what's that house-icon beside the new MSE-icon, it looks awesome. :D Please tell me the software belonging to da house. :p Thank you
     
  16. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    Thank for news.

    Does it scan faster than the previous?
     
  17. Littlemutt

    Littlemutt Guest

    For any that modified the update interval in the registry the update set it back to 24hrs, and I can't seem to change it, even running regedit as Admin on Win7 RC. I did before, but I get an error now - cannot write..or something to that effect.

    So it looks like MS is moving toward the 1/day update plan as previously discussed in other forums. This could be a mistake on their part as almost all other security software updates multiple times per day.
     
  18. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
    i can not upgrade...... upgrade finds no upgrade! do you have a link to download new version?
     
  19. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    You're welcome. That house icon is for the Windows Home Server Console. Because WHS servers are "headless" (without monitors and input devices) you use this to access the server.
     
  20. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    I didn't think mine was going to upgrade last night but it eventually did. Although after I selected upgrade I simply left the computer alone for about 30 minutes and then the upgrade wizard finally appeared. For some reason the whole process took over an hour; very slow.
     
  21. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
    its ok now.i reinstall the version 1.0.1407 and now upgrades.... very fast
     
  22. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    It's sad they can't get this update thing figured out on WinXP. My wife turns on her computer for a few hours here and a few hours there and MSE never updates on it's own. My Vista computer updates normally without any intervention.

    Ice
     
  23. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Like I stated in my previous post, it now has a scheduled task, so it is sorted, it updates once a day and has a catchup if you miss it.
     
  24. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Just double checking. The XP update bug is not fixed with this new build?
     
  25. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I have all tasks set to view (IOW nothing hidden) and I have no update task. Only a scheduled scan. Here is my current screen. We'll see if things update anyway... ;)
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.