New Menu structure for Sandboxie+

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Aug 27, 2021.

  1. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,137
    Location:
    Viena
    upload_2021-8-27_8-56-13.png




    so as you see i have put most hardcoded run entries into a tools sub menu ..... good, bad, uggly?
    And we have quite a few entries in the box content groupe including a new open registry option
    The browse and explore content is kind of redundant :(
    so what should I do? but create shortcut, browse, expore content and open registry into a sub menu called Box Content?
    than I sould move delete content there as well but that sounds like being anoying
    may be only move create shortcut, expore content and open registry but not browse content?

    like this

    upload_2021-8-27_9-2-15.png

    this somehow makes sense, the built in tools are on level 0 and the tools that open an other process ar in the content sub menu

    Also do we need Sandbox Options where it is now or can i move that to the presets? (becaue for quick open we have double click)
    Alternatively.... does anyone use this presets menu? or I remove that?

    suggestions? ideas?
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2021
  2. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,985
    Location:
    Mexico
    Asked before yet here I go again, add a Disable/Enable Sandbox function in the context menu. Please.
     
  3. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,735
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Even yet to jump onboard with the newer version (like to wait the fixes out) it looks awesome in my opinion. Menu and sub menu well organized user friendly selections
     
  4. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    186
    Location:
    uk
    Personally, I'm not in favour of another menu layer.
     
  5. sevenstar

    sevenstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Posts:
    37
    Looks good!
     
  6. SandboxerX86

    SandboxerX86 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2021
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    In a Sandbox
    I personally don't like the Run Explorer (or Windows Explorer as shown in the image) to be on another sub-menu as I use it a lot, and being next to Run Program and Run from Start Menu seems more fitting.
     
  7. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,137
    Location:
    Viena
    why are you so often disabling boxes? whats the use case?
    to enable a disabled box just double click it

    about people preffering flat menus, sure, but at some point the menus get to long to remain flat.
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm not sure if I will use this menu a lot, but it sure looks good. I still need to check out the newest Sandboxie Plus, did you manage to remove the ugly dotted lines in the main interface yet? And what about making SBIE compatible with GhostPress and SpyShelter? I'm guessing it won't be that difficult since you will probably need to use the same template that's being used for KeyScrambler.
     
  9. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    I thought it was different in the content, but just realized they are not. However as it is two different ways to display things, I would keep both. You could put both in Sub though.

    My main reasoning for the previous suggestion in the other thread was to split data changing functions (specialy delete) from non destructive ones. Which came to the box operations as a sub inclusive the recover and delete.
    Of course this is related to my usage.

    Also, not sure if you want to abandon groups, but if you keep it, we need the functions to work with them, otherwise they are useless. (Currently I cannot even reach the menu to create a group. Too many boxes in list, no free space, or did you remove it already.)

    Presets is not bad, to fast switch some things if something is not working or if you want to test. Only thing might be to make a seperator between the admin radio button and the other two options. But I like it, better then multiple clicks to come to the option in the options dialog.

    Taking all into account, here another suggestion.
    Run
    |-....
    Terminate All Programs
    -------
    Snapshots Manager
    Recover Files
    Box Content
    |- Browse Content (Only Box files)
    |- Explore Content (View of Discs incl overlay of Box)
    '- Open Registry (is this Box Reg only or real with overlay?)
    -------
    Sandbox Presets
    |- ...
    Sandbox Options
    Sandbox Operations
    |- Create Shortcut
    ------
    |- Rename Sandbox
    |- Delete Content
    '- Remove (maybe better: Delete) Sandbox
    -------
    Groups
    |- Add Group
    |- Rename Group
    |- Delete Group
    '- Move to Group
    -------
    Copy
    |- Copy Cell
    |- Copy Row
    '- Copy Panel
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2021
  10. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,137
    Location:
    Viena
    I'll add a create groupe option to the sandbox menu in the main window, not to teh context menu that should do the trick
     
  11. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,985
    Location:
    Mexico
    Really? Double click for me opens sandbox settings.

    ini file:
    Enabled=y Enables sandbox
    Enabled=n Disables sandbox but sandman GUI hides it
     
  12. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,137
    Location:
    Viena
    In the view menu you ned to echek show hidden boxes
    then it wil show disabled boxes in gray and if you double click one of them it will offer to enable it
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.