New Member Help and Advice Please

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by juppy, Dec 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. juppy

juppy Registered Member

Hi I am mick and this is my first posting to this forum.

I am new to computer security and would like a little advice if at all possible.
    The following refers to home computing
    Currently I have a desktop with XP professional. My internet connection is cable broadband.
    Next year I am buying another desk top and setting up a wireless connection to two other desk tops and a lap top.

At present my anti-virus security is

Anti Virus - AVG 6.0 A much debated program which is not a favourite of virus testers but a real winner with users see Tech Support Guy AVG. anti virus review.

I am now looking to replace with
    originally Kaspersky but looking at your site and the comments with in it I am now considering NOD32 - for several reasons
    a) reading Re:Nod32 vs KAV thread there does not seem much between them it is personal preference.
    b) Nod32 is cheaper £50 for 3 years.
    c) I am in favour of stand alone programs as against all in one (multipurpose) programs

I also intend to install BOClean anti-trojan

My enquiry is
    1) Any comments on my choice and thoughts about NOD32 & Kaspersky
    2) Will running NOD32 and BOClean set up conflicts between them and are they suitable for a computer within a wireless system

Thanks
    Mick :)

2. Paul Wilders

Paul Wilders Administrator

welcome, juppy ;)

No really. Personal favor and taste come into play here as well.

No conflicts to be expected, and they should be suitable indeed. Nice combo in my opinion.

regards.

paul

3. StAnger

StAnger Registered Member

It really is a matter of what works for you and personal preference.

I use both NOD32 and KAV (on different computers)
    My experiences sofar have been that the KAV on demand scanner is lots slower then NOD's