New ICMP message in Log

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by hjbyram, Dec 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hjbyram

hjbyram Registered Member

I am still a newbie, but 1st let me say, I have executed the Shields Up! tests and my PC passed all of them - I'm thrilled.

My question is regarding a new ICMP message I am receiving:
    I have a Westell Versalink Router, Model 327W & Verizon DSL. The router includes a wireless connection - which I am not using currently. However, I did recently reconfigure the wireless portion to only allow my PC & Laptop.

I just noticed that I am now receiving the ICMP message for the DSLROUTER, Type:3 (destination unreachable) Code:4 (fragmentation needed & DF set). The router (internet) is trying to communicate with my PC. But I don't know if this is good or bad.

How can I determine if a new rule is needed to allow for this, or if, in fact, it is correct to block it? Thanks (as an fyi, there's a possibility a neighbor was connecting to the internet through my previously unprotected wireless access point, perhaps not deliberate on his part, but stupid on mine for not securing sooner)

2. Climenole

Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

Hi hjbyram :)

You may add a rule to authorised the Icmp Type 3 code 4.
    This is often required for some router, some internet connections and local network.

I joint the rule. Just removed the ".txt" and import it in your rule set.
    Put this rule at the end of your Icmp's rules, save it and reboot.

Hope this help. Let us know.

:)

Attached Files:

3. hjbyram

Hi Climenole, remember me? To much Christmas, then too many problems with the Westell Versalink Gateway modem.

So, the Westell modem has been replaced with the ActionTec GT704WG DSL Gateway modem.