new hard drive won't boot aafter restore.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by SRC47, Nov 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SRC47

    SRC47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    The hard drive on my son's computer is on its way out. I made and image of it and backed it up to an external USB hard drive. I installed the new hard drive and used the Acronis boot disc to restore the image which it said it was successful in doing. The problem is it won't boot. I get this error message:
    Windows could not start because of acomputer disk hardware configuration problem.Could not read from the selected boot disk. Check the boot path and disk hardware. Please check the Windows documentation about hardware disk configuration and your hardware reference manuals for additional information.
    I then tried the Acronis MBR repair tool and I get this mseeage:
    No commands for booting the operating system.
    I need some help with this please.
     
  2. Abera

    Abera Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Go to Pick a Category (lefthand corner)> Hard Disk Management> Clone Disk. I had the same problem.
    Hope this helps...
     
  3. Abera

    Abera Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    The edit won't work I guess. Do this from the old hd to the new one.
     
  4. Unimatrix

    Unimatrix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    hi,
    some questions.

    What is your operating system xp or 2000 ?
    Did you unplug the old harddisk?
    Did you use the same IDE port for the new harddisk.

    First aid if the os is xp or 2000 and you unpluged the old harddisk.

    Boot xp from your installation cd. selelct repair with recovery console.
    choose your keyboard settings, think its for you english.
    choose your windows installation, at default, type 1
    log in to your windows installation, default press enter or use your password.

    if you get the command promt, type in:

    fixmbr |then press enter.
    confirme with "y"
    read the message, should say mbr has been written.

    type in:
    fixboot |then press enter.
    confirme with "y"
    read the message, should say bootrecord has been written.

    type in:
    exit
    system will rebbot now. remove the cd.

    come back with your results.

    Unimatrix
     
  5. SRC47

    SRC47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    the os is XP. This is a laptop I put the new hard drive in the same bay as the old one. I tried the repair you suggested but I still get the same message when I re boot.
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    When you made the image, did you make the image of the entire hard drive or just the C partition? Some computers have additional partitions for diagnostics or backup that need to be included in the image to create a bootable drive. Be sure to restore all the partitions not just C.

    If that doesn't help, I'd try booting from either a Widows CD or a Windows 98 floppy and formatting the hard drive. That will confirm whether the new drive is properly installed and working.

    The message you are getting is not a common one.
     
  7. SRC47

    SRC47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    I backed up the entire hard drive.I restored all the partitions. I formatted the hard drive and did the whole process again with the same results.
     
  8. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    This is really a frustrating problem.

    Can you boot from the TI Recovery CD and verify the image on the USB drive?

    What version and build of TI are you using?

    What is the make and model of your son's notebook?

    I should have asked these before, but didn't.

    Do you have a Windows installation CD or a recovery disk that came with the notebook?
     
  9. SRC47

    SRC47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Yes I can boot from the TI Recovery CD and see the image on the USB drive. It is the trial version 10 build 4,871. His computer is a Dell Inspiron 2650, XP SP2, P-4, 1.6 GHz, 512 MB RAM. the disk is the recovery disk that came with the computer.
     
  10. risktaker3

    risktaker3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    I ran across something similar today restoring to a new HDD for the first time. It looks like for some reason it was detecting my primary HDD (the one I had to replace) as the D: drive. It looks like it was detecting my USB drive as C:. Once I powered off the USB HDD and rebooted I was able to successfully boot into Windows.
     
  11. SRC47

    SRC47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    I have done that also it still won't boot.
     
  12. SRC47

    SRC47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    I am going back to square one. I removed the image from the external hard drive, I created and verified a new image. I am now formatting the new hard drive(again) and will try to restore the new image. Stay tuned for details, film at 11:
     
  13. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    OK, everything is normal.

    I think the problem may be that the Trial version allows you to make and verify an image but not restore it from the Recovery CD. Afterall, if the Recovery CD worked to backup and restore, why would you need to buy the program?

    Does anyone know the limitations on the Trial program?
     
  14. SRC47

    SRC47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    The trial program only works for 14 days. It is a full functioning version.
    The new hard drive is up and running. I don't know what I did wrong the first time but this time it restored the drive as advertised.
    Thanks to all of you who helped me through this.
     
  15. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    I'm not sure this is correct. As I recall I think it is :

    Windows : a 15 day limit for full functionality
    Recovery CD : Restore functionality is not provided.

    F.
     
  16. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Recovery CD provides retore funtionality and this continues after the trial period.
    Recovery CD does not allow images to be made. Use Windows.

    But as I have never used a trial version.......

    Xpilot
     
  17. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Ok. now I am confused

    EDIT: But you are right :
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=852782&postcount=3

    F.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2006
  18. SRC47

    SRC47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Yes it does privide recovery functionalit as I was able to recover the image of my old drive to the new one. there is one wrinkle, Windows recognized the new drive and it is listed in device manager but the problem is it is only showing 20 GB total space and it is a 4o GB drive. what happened to the other 20 GB? There is not another unused partition that shows.
     
  19. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Congratulations!

    Sometimes the first try with any new software fails and the second try succeeds without it being clear what was different. I like TrueImage because I can restore an image after a failed installation of new software or the software to support new hardware. Many times the second try has gone perfectly although I thought I did the same steps.

    I hope you decide to buy TrueImage for future use.
     
  20. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Was the drive that you made the image of only 20GB?

    There is a step in the restore process where you can adjust the size of the partition on the new drive. If you miss that, the rest of the drive is simply unallocated space.

    You can either create a new partition in the unallocated space or you can use a program that alters partition sizes to expand the current partition to fill that space. Or, you can repeat the restore and this time choose to increase the size of the partition to fill the drive.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.