New Google Toolbar

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by DaveU, May 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DaveU

    DaveU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    For the last ten days or so, there's been a pop-up in Google trying to persuade me to use the new Google toolbar.
    I've not bothered. I have enough toolbars already (not shown).

    However, using Google now returns the error message below so it seems that unless I unless I download this new tool bar, I can't use Google anymore.

    Presumably this is Google's way of forcing you to use the new toolbar. Are you guys having the same issue? Any security problems with the new tool bar? Your views/help as ever will be much appreciated. Thanks

    Your client does not have permission to get URL /custom?hl=en&q=boots&btnG=Google+Search&meta=&hl=en&ie=ISO-8859-1&oe=ISO-8859-
    1&client=pub-7803381336700505&channel=3181435462&cof= from this server. (Client IP address: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)

    The website you've just visited has tried to provide you with search results from Google. Unfortunately, the site violates our terms of service so your search could not be completed. If you would like to continue with your search, please click the link below, which will take you directly to Google and the results you've requested. We apologize for the inconvenience and encourage you to conduct future searches directly from google.com or through the Google Toolbar, which can be downloaded for free from this address: http://XXXtoolbar.google.com. (my 'XXX's)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2007
  2. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    While I have seen the nag from Google to try their toolbar, I am not familiar with the types of errors you are receiving.

    I have never seen anywhere that Google forces the use of their toolbar. I just helped someone with their PC last night and we uninstalled the GTB because IE7 allows you to add Google search directly to the built-in IE 7 search bar. After making the changes, we surfed for quite a while, used Google several times after that and had NO issues (popups, errors, etc.)

    Clearly, something seems to be amiss with your situation. What are you using for your browser? Is your setup fully updated (Windows, antivirus, etc.) and have you fully, manually scanned you system for viruses etc.?
     
  3. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,703
    Hello,
    I have never seen an offer or a popup from Google on whatever issue.
    Mrk
     
  4. DaveU

    DaveU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    sorry for misleading you. The pop-up I mentioned wasn't a pop-up - it was a window on Googles home page (UK) saying "get yourself Googles new tool bar" (or something like that). I've tried several times to attach a screen dump but being thick have failed - I can't save it in a format that is accepted. o_O :(

    I've got Norton AV & Firewall and a range of good spyware. I've done a scan - no problems. Perhaps it's something happening only in the UK?

    Alternatively, I use BT broadband - they got in bed with Yahoo, so perhaps this is part os the silly game between Yahoo and Google that's happening at the moment?
     
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,703
    Hello,
    I see. Open it in IE, you see that in the right upper corner.
    Solution: switch to superior browsers like FF or Opera, no more message.
    Mrk
     
  6. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Happens in the U.S. as well. You are correct, it is not a pop-up, nor are you infected. Just Google doing some shameless self promotion. Do not remember if I have ever seen it using FF. I have come to ignore it.
     
  7. DaveU

    DaveU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    cheers guys.
    I like Google and now can't use it. I thought I'd email them - via "contact us'.
    No email address!!!!!!!!
    I'll write to them 'cos I'm Possed off now. :blink: Probably will have to send it via carrier pigeon.

    As always - thanks for your help.:thumb:
     
  8. DaveU

    DaveU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    I gave in . . . . and downloaded their new tool-bar . . but still got the blasted error message.
    I have at last found something in their Q&A - below. I've got Norton Internet Security - it's OK as far as I'm concerned but I now wonder if I can 'enable' executable files just from Google or is it a risk changing the settings. (Not that I know how to do that anyway!)

    When I try to install the Toolbar I get a "403 Forbidden" error. What's wrong?
    This problem usually occurs if you're working behind a personal or corporate firewall. This type of security software prevents you from downloading executable files.

    If you're experiencing this problem, please check all security settings related to downloading executable files. These settings may be associated with your Internet Service Provider, a personal or corporate firewall or anti-virus software. If you can identify the setting that is preventing you from downloading the Toolbar, you can adjust it and then retry the installation by visiting http://toolbar.google.com
     
  9. DaveU

    DaveU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    so I emailed BT/Yahoo or whomever. Gave them some anglo-saxon, non-technical, very clear messages. (E.g. is Yahoo's battle with Google causing me grief - or words to that effect.)
    Guess what? Yahoo have sent me some very technical, cannot-understand-what-they-are-saying messages.

    BUT I can now google again.

    They must really think we are totally stupid. Thank you for all your help.
    I hope that you, too, will give 'em hell if you are having the same problem!!
     
  10. pugmug

    pugmug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    413
    Screw Google,use Scroogle.Damn,a poet and don't know it,lol.
     
  11. DaveU

    DaveU Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    Frugal!:D
     
  12. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.