New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,772
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Strangely mine is in the Menu on one laptop, but like yours in another.

    Click on >> chevron > Customise Toolbar, and drag it out of toolbar or into Overflow Menu?
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I just deleted my post. I figured what was going on.

    The Customize button didn't do nothing. In my case what I had to do was to run Firefox unsandboxed, click to read their news about the new Firefox, and the annoyance doesn't show up again next time you open the browser.

    Before, they had something like it but you could easily just click it off to disregard it, immediately after the update was applied. Now, it waits a few minutes after starting the browser and it shows up as a button.

    Bo
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,247
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,247
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    No, thank @bjm_ for making the links available for those too lazy to search for themselves. ;)
     
  6. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,677
    elam, did you manage to get rid of the "recently bookmarked" section under library in 70?
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    With you I never know if you are playing games or being serious. Can you explain a little better, I don't know what you are talking about, or why you are asking me directly.

    Bo
     
  8. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,363
    Location:
    .
    png_1985.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2019
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Oh, oh OK. So he was serious. That Library button I keep it hidden. I never used it. I handle Bookmarks in my own personal old fashioned way. Like below, and keep and maintain Bookmarks menu and Other bookmarks expanded. I dont use the Bookmarks toolbar, if that heading could be deleted I would have deleted it a long time ago.

    1.jpg


    My Recently bookmarked items go to the bottom under Other bookmarks. Later, if I decide to save one for good, I move it to Bookmarks menu.

    For me the side window for bookmarks is the perfect way of handling bookmarks. I usually have many items under Other bookmarks, this is what the end of the list looks right now. If I want to click on a recent bookmarked item, I scroll quickly to the bottom and click the link.

    3.jpg

    Bo
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    So, now that I understand what you were asking, I guess I don't have to get rid of the "recently bookmarked" section under library since I dont use the Library. But I can tell you, if I was to use the Library, I would probably want that section to remain.

    Bo
     
  11. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,363
    Location:
    .
    Um, is there a way to stop bookmarks from populating to Recently Bookmarked.
    If I hide the Library....are new bookmarks still populating to Recently Bookmarked.
    I use Library button for access to Recent History.
    I don't show Menu Bar and usually don't call Menu Bar with Alt.
    Recently Bookmarked survives my sandbox'd sessions = I've allowed direct access.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2019
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I can tell you about this one, bjm. I am seeing items I bookmarked about 2 weeks ago under Library/Recently bookmarked. Items I moved around still appear and as long as I haven't deleted an item, if its recent, it shows up under Recently bookmarked.

    Bo
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I need help with this, I like to hide the blue strip that appears under the address bar when you write something in the URL bar. I was using userChrome.css code that quit working after Firefox 70 was released. So, we need new code or an about:config preference. If anyone has a solution, please help.

    xOBU8To.jpg

    Bo
     
  14. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,363
    Location:
    .
    Hi Bo,
    Yeah....it is what it is. Guess, I can access Recent History thru hamburger button > Library.
    I'm used to using 'Bookmarks Menu from Toolbar' button and 'Library' button.
    Only thinking about stuff now because "imdb" got me thinking. :argh:
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,247
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  16. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,363
    Location:
    .
    Um, I still have blue strip with > browser.urlbar.megabar false.
    png_1987.png
    png_1986.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2019
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,247
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Oh. In that case I do not know.
     
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Krusty, the blue bar that pops up under the address bar is not the new invention of Mozilla (mega bar), they invented that blue bar a few versions ago. I was able to hide it but cant now. It doesn't annoy me much as I never search using the address bar but still, is annoying to me (as a distraction), it takes the focus away when I copy and paste a link in the address bar.

    Bo
     
  19. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,053
    Location:
    Serbia
    The best I was able to do is setting the value of 'browser.urlbar.maxRichResults' boolean to 0.
    This removes the blue bar, but a small empty bar still appears when you type -
    Untitled.png
    If you can live with that... :)

    EDIT: Source here (yeah, 12 years old).
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2019
  20. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,677
    thanks bjm_ & elam.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2019
  21. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,677
    @bjm_
    rlght click on toolbar, click customize, right click on "history" and click add to toolbar.
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thats not a bad option. At least with this, the blue bar doesn't cover (hiding) the rest of tabs you have open.

    Good find. Thanks, Seer.

    Bo
     
  23. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I am having a devil of a time finding out where ublockOrigin stores its user-created rules list in Firefox 70. Things must have changed, because there's no files stored in the profile directory browser-extension-data. And that's where everything in my profile (FF 65-69) was kept.

    Any ideas?
     
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi @Seer. Someone at tenforums posted this new code to get rid of the blue bar. Its working fine, check it out.

    #urlbar-results {
    display: none !important;
    }

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2019
  25. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,063
    that change came up around firefox 63/64/65 when firefox changed storage place - ublock was one of the first extension which respected this circumstance.

    \browser-extension-data\
    is useless since then, you can delete it. nevertheless outdated extensions still try to write this way but the folder(s) is empty.
    there is no way for you to grab it until you are very very familiar with its database format, so you should try the official way in ublock. (otherwise complete dataloss for ublock)

    are you missing settings? you cant go back with an older firefox and such new profile because the content of that older folder is gone and not usable, you need an older version of your profile and a fitting firefox build to recover it.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.